St. Patty’s Day 8k Recap

My friend Katie and I ran the St. Patty’s Day 8k race in D.C. yesterday!

photo 1

The weather was perfect for running a race – probably around low-to-mid 50s during the actual race. I started off with a long-sleeved shirt, a tank top underneath the long-sleeved shirt, and capri running pants, but soon took the shirt off because I was getting a little overheated.  You’ll see from the picture above that I totally got in the St. Patty’s Day spirit. Katie did not. 🙂 (To be fair she had no green articles of clothing).

I thought the race was super fun. The entire course was flat which was awesome. I had run parts of this race route before for other races in D.C. so it was nice that it was familiar. We started the race on Pennsylvania Avenue by Freedom Plaza, ran up towards Union Station and then circled back finishing where we started. The one tricky part of the race was at the very end when you could see the finish line, the course had you hang a left turn and make another small loop before coming back to Pennsylvania Avenue and the finish line. Those tricky race organizers! I would definitely do this race again next year. It wasn’t too long and strenuous, but was long enough to get your heart pumping and get your sweat on. I had a burst of energy the last half of the race finishing in 47 minutes and 36 seconds, which I gladly took.

Of course with any race comes brunch afterwards! As soon as Katie and I had crossed the finish line, stretched out a little, and picked up my belongings from Bag Check we headed to the Hamilton.

We promptly ordered celebratory drinks, a St. Germaine mimosa for me and a Hibiscus mimosa for Katie.

photo 3

We also ordered skim lattes (that came with a slice of biscotti, which I thought was adorable).

photo 5

We decided to share the Brussels Sprouts salad.

photo 2

For our entrees Katie ordered the Chesapeake Benne (eggs Benedict with a crab cake), while I finally settled on the Oyster Po’boy. There are so many delicious options to choose from at Hamilton!

photo 4

After brunch we each went to our respective homes and sat on the couch for about 3 hours. Yours truly enjoyed watching an oldie but goodie, Three Men and a Little Lady. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC, Health & Fitness, Race Recaps

2 responses to “St. Patty’s Day 8k Recap

  1. Pingback: Another Race! | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: 31st Year | Bee in DC

Leave a comment