D.C. Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon

So I finally did it – I signed up for my first ever half marathon. A few friends and I will be running the 2013 DC Rock ‘N’ Roll Half! Am I terrified? You bet.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good run. But 13.1 miles is just so many. I just hope I have the endurance to complete it, that is my one and only goal. Complete the race. I am also not a fast runner by any means. 

A couple of half marathon regulars tell me that the hardest part of running a half (or full marathon) is the training – having the discipline to follow a training plan.

At the suggestion of many runner friends I have decided to use Hal Higdon ‘s Novice 1 Half Marathon training program. I can’t wait to start it!

Even though I am nervous about running this race, I am also incredibly excited. Running a half marathon has been one of my goals for years. It just never seemed like a good time to train and run for such a big race, but March 16, 2013 will be the day!

I was a spectator at this past year’s DC Rock ‘N’ Roll half & full marathon. Several of my co-workers were running it, so a couple other co-workers and I went to the race to cheer them on. Just standing on the sidelines got me pumped up and so excited. I felt so proud for each and every person running past us. You could tell that a lot of them were having a blast doing what they loved.

Cheering on one of our co-workers!

So here’s to hoping that I (and my friends) have the time of our lives training and running for this race! I will definitely be writing more about this experience on Bee in DC as it comes. I plan on officially training for this run in December.

QUESTION
What are your half marathon tips? Anything specific that a newbie should know?

13 Comments

Filed under Health & Fitness, Life in DC

13 responses to “D.C. Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon

  1. Christina Edland

    Training is key and the runs are very important. My saving grace has been Glide (anti-chaffing gel) and good music. For long runs make sure you drink lots of water two days before and eat properly. You will do awesome. A lot of it is mental. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Half Marathons I Would Like to Run | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Morning Run | Bee in DC

  4. Pingback: Essentials for a 12- Hour Road Trip to Maine – with a dog | Bee in DC

  5. Pingback: Molly’s Cupcakes ‘N’ More | Bee in DC

  6. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 10: New Year, New Me! | Bee in DC

  7. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 11 | Bee in DC

  8. Pingback: New Job! | Bee in DC

  9. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 13 | Bee in DC

  10. Pingback: Big Day! | Bee in DC

  11. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 14 | Bee in DC

  12. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution Check-in from Last Year | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

