DCBFIT – Coming Soon

Yay for the first guest blogger on Bee in DC – my husband, Tommy!

With their Grand Opening in January of 2013, you can “kick” off your fitness related New Year’s resolutions in style at DC Boxing and Fitness (or DCBFIT)! Located at 1000 New Jersey Avenue in Southeast D.C., DCBFIT will offer high-intensity, high-fun fitness and kickboxing training based on the art of “Muay Thai” kickboxing.

For the uninitiated, Muay Thai is a combat sport from Thailand which makes use of punches, kicks, elbows, and knees. It has gained mainstream exposure in the U.S. in-part due to the rise in popularity of “Mixed Martial Arts” and the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC).

Side bar: I was very fortunate to go and train at a Muy Thai training camp in a city in Thailand, Chiang Mai, Christmas 2009. It was a lot of fun and I learned so much from the trainers and fighters at the camp. I’m hoping I’ll have as much fun at this new gym as I did at the training camp.

In 2009 we went to Thailand for Christmas. I was in heaven because I was able to attend a Muy Thai training camp in Lana Basat in the city of Chiang Mai for several days.

Muy Thai training camp in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Muy Thai training camp in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Muy Thai training camp in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Be sure to check out www.dcbfit.com for a fun and exciting change of pace from the usual weights and cardio at the gym as January approaches, and we’ll see you in the ring!

-Tommy

4 Comments

Filed under Guest Bloggers, Health & Fitness, Life in DC, Travel

4 responses to “DCBFIT – Coming Soon

  1. Hi Tommy, this is Jerome, I am the founder and head trainer for DCBFIT. Make sure YOU come see me when DCBFIT opens I will take care you. Thanks for the support and when you get a chance check out my fight team- smokin-fist.com. Thanks again!!!

    • Excuse the typo Tommy, I am not taking you..lol. I WILL teach you how to kick butt though.

      • tommy comeau

        We spoke on facebook a while back and I’m really looking forward to having a place to train. From Chaing Mai, Thailand to SE DC Muay Thai has been my favorite of the different martial arts I’ve been exposed to. Can’t wait! I’ll check out the smokin-fist crew as well. January can’t get here soon enough. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help out.

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 16 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

