Cookin’ and Trottin’!

Behold my food contributions to Thanksgiving dinner this year! As mentioned before, I was put in charge of baking the pumpkin pies, making baked mac ‘n’ cheese, and whipping up caramelized brussels sprouts!

Pumpkin pies.

Baked Mac ‘N’ Cheese.

Caramelized brussels sprouts.

My mom and I did the D.C. 5k Turkey Trot this morning to start our Thanksgiving Day. It felt so great to get a run in outside and I was so proud of mom who ran the entire race!

Mom and I ready to get our run on!

The race , officially called the 11th Annual Thanksgiving Day Trot for Hunger, benefits S.O.M.E. The proceeds help SOME to continue to serve more than 1,000 meals per day and will directly benefit the homeless and poor men, women and children who rely on SOME for daily food, health care and affordable housing. This year the race raised 400k for the organization and had over 10,000 race participants. Amazing!

Freedom Plaza where the race began and ended.

My brother arrived from Atlanta a couple of hours ago. Unfortunately my dad had to be overseas for work in Nigeria over the holiday so we’ll be missing him. Before he left for Nigeria he cooked 2 turkeys and packed them in his suitcase to bring a little Thanksgiving cheer to Africa. I find that HILARIOUS and so typical of my dad! Tommy, Violet, and I will be heading to my mom’s in a couple of hours ready to eat our hearts out and watch the Cowboys and Redskins play some football.

Again, wishing you all a very Happy Thanksgiving!

QUESTION

Where you in charge of cooking anything for your Thanksgiving meal? If so, what?

3 Comments

Filed under Health & Fitness, Holidays, Life in DC, Race Recaps

3 responses to “Cookin’ and Trottin’!

  1. Pingback: Half Marathon Training – thinking ahead & some reservations | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving Prep | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie is Gone, Shopping is On! | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

