Black Friday Tradition

I hope everyone had an amazing Thanksgiving!

Tommy, Violet and I were in bed by 9:36pm if that is any indication of how our Thanksgiving went. Our bellies were full and Tommy and all the other Redskins fans were happy with the final score of the football game. Cowboys fans? Not so much.

Here is my favorite picture from yesterday:

This was happening while I was slaving away in the kitchen on Thanksgiving.

Something that has turned into kind of a tradition for my mom and me over the last several years is that we wake up early to partake in some Black Friday shopping. It’s totally weird, but I look forward to this time with my mom, just her and me. There is something cozy about getting up in the wee hours of the morning, driving together to our store destinations each of us drinking a cup of coffee and talking along the way, and sharing in the excitement of finding Christmas presents for family and friends. It’s special and something I look forward to every year.

For those of you who don’t know what Black Friday is, it’s the day after Thanksgiving where tons of stores offer discounts and deals on merchandise to kick-start the Christmas shopping frenzy. Well, I say day after Thanksgiving, but this year (I think) a lot of stores took it to a whole different level because they opened on Thanksgiving Day night at 8pm or so.

Personally, I have an issue with stores opening up later on Thanksgiving Day to give more people time to shop. Some people may ask:  what is the difference between shopping on Black Friday and shopping a few hours earlier?

My best explanation:  because I believe people should be able to enjoy the entire day to spend with friends and family – stuffing their faces, watching and/or play football, or whatever they choose. There will be plenty of time later for shopping. Even though Christmas is my favorite holiday of all time, I think Thanksgiving definitely gets the short end of the stick. So many people overlook Thanksgiving and start immediately celebrating Christmas. Thanksgiving is a holiday too people! I feel even worse that not only do people and stores start decorating for Christmas before Thanksgiving, but now Thanksgiving Day is even getting cut short.

Let me be clear I love Christmas and I love Christmas shopping, particularly Black Friday. I just think we need to give Thanksgiving its rightful respect. 🙂

Mom and I set out for the Leesburg Premium Outlets at 4:30am and then drove to Tyson’s Corner. I’ll let you in on another little secret. One of the main reasons why I love Black Friday shopping is because I LOVE buying all my Christmas presents for people on this day and being able to cross everyone off my list. (I blame my Type A personality on this). I didn’t do too shabby this year – I only have one more person to buy a gift for!

After mom and I came home, I ate some yummy leftovers for breakfast (it was 10:30am) and then took a little power nap. Later today I plan on taking out our Christmas decorations and maybe seeing the movie Lincoln.

QUESTION

Did you venture out on Black Friday to do some shopping? If not, how come?

4 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Life in DC, Things to do in DC

4 responses to “Black Friday Tradition

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 52 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 55 | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving Prep | Bee in DC

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie is Gone, Shopping is On! | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

