Half Marathons I Would Like to Run

I realize that this “wish list” is a little ridiculous since I have not yet run my first half marathon. This will happen on March 16 when I run the D.C. Rock “N” Roll Half Marathon. However in my defense, I strongly believe I will love the race so much I will catch the running bug and will want to run some other half marathons. Isn’t there a saying when talking about half marathons and marathons “it’s more mental than physical”? (I have also been thinking about this way too much this week).

So here’s to hoping that all my positive mental energy and soon to be training do indeed ring true and I love running half marathons!

Disclaimer: All of these races may or may not have been chosen in mind that the particular city the race will be held in would also make an excellent “weekend getaway trip” as well. 🙂 I do love to travel so why not combine two loves of mine?

You’ll also notice the race locales have generally cooler weather. As mentioned before, I much prefer running in the winter or in places that aren’t excruciatingly hot.

1. Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon. Ummm this is clearly a no-brainer. Who wouldn’t want to run through this scenic wine country? As an incentive, you’re guaranteed a delicious glass of wine (or two!) to celebrate your running accomplishment.  Running this race would also tick off a location on my Top 6 Travel DestinationsRan this on Sunday, July 21, 2013!

2. The Wipro San Francisco Marathon. I would be running the half, just so we’re clear on that. I think San Francisco would be a great city to run in – so many different sites and things to look at. The weather is great for running. Though I am a little scared of the hill potential since it’s a very hilly city naturally. This race is also very close to my birthday (the race is on June 16) so perhaps I could package this little trip as a birthday present from Tommy…It would be perfect – explore San Fran, run the half, and then head to Napa and Sonoma! Doing this would also tick off one of my locations from my Top 6 Travel Destinations.

The Wipro San Francisco Marathon

3. Hamptons Marathon & Half Marathon. I have never been to the Hampton’s and it is definitely a place I wouldn’t mind visiting. As it says on the website “the courses run through Amagansett, Springs and East Hampton with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Napeague Bay out to the Long Island Sound”. Beautiful! This would also enable me to get in some beach time…

4. Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run. No this isn’t technically a half marathon, but 10 miles is pretty close. A lot of my co-workers and friends run this race every year and always have great things to say about it. I mean if there is a lottery for this race, it must be pretty good right? It doesn’t hurt that the race is local either or that it’s during the annual Cherry Blossom Festival, one of the most beautiful times to be in D.C.

Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run

QUESTION

Are there any races on your must-do list? What are they and where are they? Share the knowledge!

9 Comments

Filed under Health & Fitness, Travel

9 responses to “Half Marathons I Would Like to Run

  1. Great list! And combining running and travel is an awesome way to do it. I have so many races on my Racing Wish List that I think I would have trouble cutting it down to just a few.

  2. Julie

    I’ll go with you to the San Fran or Sonoma Valley halfs!

  3. Elaine

    I think any of these would be fantastic. Scheduling allowing, I’m on board for the entire list. Maybe we could knock them all off one by one?

  4. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 14 | Bee in DC

  5. Pingback: Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon – it’s a go! | Bee in DC

  6. Pingback: Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon Recap | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

