Chinatown Coffee Company

I had to meet someone for coffee earlier today. I wanted to try and stay away from a typical Starbucks or Caribou Coffee, so I did a little research to see if there were any nice, clean, independent coffee shops near Gallery Place/Chinatown (where we had settled on meeting a day earlier).

The entrance to D.C.'s Chinatown.

The entrance to D.C.’s Chinatown.

I settled on Chinatown Coffee Company after reading a couple of reviews and checking out their website. It’s a couple of blocks from the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro stop on the corner of H. St. NW and 5th Street NW. (You need to exit on the Chinatown side).

Chinatown Coffee Company.

Chinatown Coffee Company.

I liked the decor inside – it was pretty minimalist with a contemporary feel – though it is rather small.  When I arrived, I was able to find a table right away, but I imagine this place can get pretty crowded at peak hours. Even on a Tuesday afternoon, some people had to take their coffee to-go as space was limited as time went by.

Chinatown Coffee

Inside the coffee shop.

I ordered their small soy chai latte. I thought the latte was a bit watery and definitely small (especially for the price – $4.25!) I am curious to see how big their medium-sized cup is. The fact that the soy chai was watery didn’t stop me from finishing it though.

I would come back here, but I think I would order something else (perhaps a latte or espresso) and I would most likely get a medium!

1 Comment

Filed under Life in DC, Things to do in DC

One response to “Chinatown Coffee Company

  1. Pingback: Coffee lovers out there? | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

