Tuesday Tidbits – 12

1. I was in Georgetown this weekend and popped into Sprinkles for a quick sugar pick-me-up.

Sprinkles Cupcakes!

Sprinkles Cupcakes!

2. I am on a mission (as what usually happens during this time of year every year) to attempt to watch all the movies up for Best Picture at the Oscars. In order to do this I will need to go see Amour, Silver Linings Playbook, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Zero Dark Thirty, Django Unchained, and Life of Pi. (I have already seen Argo, Lincoln, and Les Miserables). We’ll see if I can do it! Anyone want to see one or more of these movies with me?

3. Restaurant Week is coming to the D.C. area again, February 4 – 10! For those of you that don’t know what this is, it’s a week when a lot of D.C. restaurants offer price fixed lunch and dinner menus. It happens only twice a year, usually in late-January and August. The idea is that it gives people (read: young professionals or students who don’t make a lot of money) the chance to eat at really good, but at most times, pricier places. Who is as excited as me?! I already have reservations at Cafe Milano and 701 Restaurant. Go here to see the complete list of restaurants participating and to make some reservations!

4. I was discussing this at dinner last night with some friends, Inauguration is upon us this coming Monday, January 21st, but it doesn’t feel like Inauguration if that makes sense. In 2009 there was just so much hoopla over the whole spectacle. There was talk everywhere regarding who was renting their apartment out to out-of-town visitors, who was attending an inaugural ball, and if so which one, was anyone volunteering for Inauguration, etc. I get that a lot of it is because 2009’s Inauguration was just so historic and thus buzz and excitement, but still. Maybe it’s because I feel like this year’s inaugural just crept up on everyone. Nonetheless, I plan on watching all the festivities in my pajamas in the comfort of my own warm home, on my couch, drinking coffee. 🙂

Don’t worry, I attended a ball, volunteered on Inauguration Day, and saw the entire ceremony from a spot on the mall with 3 million other people in 2009. 🙂

5. This is where I found Violet on Saturday afternoon after realizing she had disappeared from the living room for 30 minutes or so. In Tommy and my bedroom, in the dark, laying on a pile of clean clothes. This is one of her most favorite things to do.

Yes, Violet, that is exactly why I just did a load of laundry.

Yes, Violet, that is exactly why I just did a load of laundry.

6 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC, Things to do in DC, Tuesday Tidbits

6 responses to “Tuesday Tidbits – 12

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 13 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 14 | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Rain, Rain, Go Away! | Bee in DC

  4. Pingback: 701 | Bee in DC

  5. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 31 | Bee in DC

  6. Pingback: Del Frisco’s Grille | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

