Acqua Al 2

Acqua Al 2 is a fine Italian restaurant in Eastern Market (a little past Barracks Row). The original Acqua Al 2 sprung up in Florence, Italy in 1978.  In 2006, doors were open to the first international Acqua Al 2 in San Diego and in 2010 the Acqua Al 2 concept was brought to the Washington, D.C. area. The D.C. restaurants uses the exact same menu as the original.

Acqua Al 2 in Eastern Market

Acqua Al 2 in Eastern Market

I have been to Acqua Al 2 several times. Every time I have been impressed with my order and today was no exception. However this afternoon I will say service was (surprisingly) slow.

Bread to start.

Bread to start.

For my entrée I got the Farfalline ai Funghi Porcini, which consisted of Bowtie pasta with sautéed porcini mushrooms, garlic, parsley and a touch of parmigiano. YUM! I scarfed it up.

Farfalline ai Funghi Porcini

Farfalline ai Funghi Porcini

While I decided to just get an entree for lunch, Acqua Al 2 also does a price fix menu Tuesday – Friday for parties of 6 or less. If you decide to do this you can get three courses (a salad or soup, an entrée, and then a dessert) for $20. My lunch buddies decided to do this option and were very pleased with the result.

Price fix menu.

Price fix menu.

If you decide to go here for lunch or dinner, I can personally vouch for the Filetto al Mirtillo, which is a hand-carved filet mignon topped with a blueberry sauce. One of my friend’s ordered it and I had a bite. It was delicious!

For more information on Acqua Al 2 go here.

1 Comment

Filed under Eating out in DC

One response to “Acqua Al 2

  1. Pingback: Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

