Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon – it’s a go!

So remember when I wrote about other half marathons I would like to run in the future a couple of months ago?

Well last week, on a whim, I decided to register on the ‘second chance wait list’ for the Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon in July later this year. It was only $1 and I decided, what the heck? I also convinced my friend Christina to do the same. According to the website, as space was made they would pick a few lucky winners from this wait list to be able to officially register for the half marathon.

Maya and Christina 2

Among many other things, running buddies. 🙂

Well, lo and behold, this past Friday evening I got an email saying I was picked and I could register for this race if I wanted to! Unfortunately Christina was not selected to register for the race, but one of the perks (besides being able to register for the race) of me being selected was I could request another special registration code for Christina because she had also registered for the second chance wait list.

After a couple of very excited phone calls and text exchanges, we are both going to wine country to run this race! The race is on Sunday, July 21st, but we both decided to make a little trip out of this destination race and will be staying a few days after the race to explore Napa and Sonoma a little bit since we both have never been there, as well as San Francisco.

I am SO excited, not only to run this beautiful and challenging race with Christina, but because I’ll be able to knock a city off of my travel wish list too! I’m a little nervous about the race itself since I looked at the route on the website and there are several hills, but I’ll just have to incorporate more hill training in my runs once I start training for this half marathon.

Looking forward to running a great race and exploring wine country and San Fran with this one!

Looking forward to running a great race and exploring wine country and San Fran with this one!

Funny how things work out. If you had asked me whether I thought I’d be running a half marathon in March this time last year I would have thought you were crazy. If you would have asked me if I thought I’d be running a half marathon in March AND July last year, I would have just stopped talking to you and walked away. Here’s to hoping I can do it!

Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon, Christina and I will be ready for you – so watch out! 🙂

QUESTION

We already have our hotel lined up in Napa, any suggestions on where we should stay in San Francisco?

10 Comments

Filed under Health & Fitness, Travel

10 responses to “Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon – it’s a go!

  1. Tiffany Smith

    That’s wonderful! So excited for you two!

  2. Meg

    That’s awesome!

  3. Tiffany and Meg, we’d love cheerleaders on the ground to support us, hint hint!

  4. Pingback: Get Your Natitude On! | Bee in DC

  5. Pingback: D.C. Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon Recap | Bee in DC

  6. Pingback: Come on Spring! | Bee in DC

  7. Pingback: Hodge Podge | Bee in DC

  8. Pingback: Sippin’ and Spinnin’ | Bee in DC

  9. Pingback: Quiet Friday | Bee in DC

  10. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 52 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

