701

Last night my mom, Tommy, two family friends, and I went to 701 for the last night of DC’s Restaurant Week. My mom and I in particular had been wanting to go there for a long time. Bottom line? We weren’t disappointed!

701

701 is located in Penn Quarter. As you exit the Archives-Navy Memorial Penn Quarter metro, it is right on your right.

Everyone was extremely satisfied with their meal. We all had sunshine plates after each course, which I think is a good indication of how good the food was.

We started dinner off with some bread to munch on (it was complimentary) and a bottle of Frenzy, a Sauvignon Blanc, from New Zealand, (which was not complimentary).

701

For my appetizer I chose to order the Butternut Squash Soup. It was surprisingly not too sweet or creamy. I hurriedly slurped it up!

701 - 2

I also sampled someone else’s choice of appetizer, the Beef Carpaccio. Ummmm amazing. I especially liked the generous shavings of Parmesan cheese on the dish.

701 - 3

I surprised most of the dinner table when I chose to order the Grilled Flat Iron Steak for my entrée, as opposed to the Sweet Potato and Squash Ravioli. (I almost always choose a pasta dish whenever I go out ANYWHERE to eat). It was delicious and I devoured it. I think my 7 mile run earlier in the morning contributed to my wanting red meat!

701 - 4

To finish, I ordered the Key Lime Mousse for dessert.

701 -5

It was a lovely dining experience all around. I’d like to go back here again and again, but I will say that normally it is a little expensive to eat here. So maybe we’ll save this place for special occasions. 🙂

For more information on 701, go here.

QUESTION

Any locals out there have good (or bad) dining experiences during Restaurant Week?

2 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC, Health & Fitness

2 responses to “701

  1. Pingback: Del Frisco’s Grille | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2015 Recap | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

