Lent = pasta no mas!

First of all, Happy Valentine’s Day!

Tommy and I celebrated this holiday with an early dinner at Ripple on Wednesday night. Be on the lookout for a post about this on Friday.

Yesterday was Ash Wednesday, which is the first day of Lent in the Western Christian calendar. Wikipedia describes it as a movable fast that occurs 46 days before Easter, that can fall as early as February 4 and as late as March 10. It is believed that Jesus spent 40 days fasting in the desert, where he endured temptation by Satan. Ash Wednesday marks the beginning of this 40-day liturgical period of prayer and fasting.

Every year since I can remember I have always decided to give something up during Lent. I was raised Catholic, but somewhere between my later grades in high school I didn’t feel as connected to my Catholic faith and turned towards more contemporary church services and bible studies for spiritual guidance. Even still, I always try to “give up” something for Lent. Maybe it’s nostalgia, but I also like the idea of sacrificing something every now and then, namely just to see if I can do it. But in all honesty, I do appreciate the meaning of Lent and thus, always participate.

This year I have decided to give up all forms of pasta again (Italian noodles, Asian noodles, the whole sha-bang). THIS WILL BE TOUGH. We are talking about the girl who can’t go one day without craving pasta. And of course I went grocery shopping this past weekend (before I had made the decision to give up pasta for Lent) and stocked up fully on pasta and Lean Cuisine pasta meals for the week. Into hiding they must go.

Tommy decided to give up doughnuts. This will equally be tough for him. We are talking about the guy who eats a half-dozen doughnuts every Friday because it’s his “cheat day” from eating so clean.

Here’s to hoping we can do it!

QUESTION

For all those participating in Lent, what have you decided to give up?

7 Comments

Filed under Life in DC

7 responses to “Lent = pasta no mas!

  1. Pingback: Weekend at the Greenbrier | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 20 | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Proof | Bee in DC

  4. Pingback: Lavagna Brunch | Bee in DC

  5. Pingback: It’s about time! | Bee in DC

  6. Pingback: Floriana | Bee in DC

  7. Pingback: Getting the “Crew” Out of My Life – for 40 days | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

