Ripple

I finally made it to Ripple! I got to check off another restaurant off my list – for some reason I get so much pleasure in crossing things off any list I make.

Tommy and I decided the restaurant we would go to for Valentine’s Day would be Ripple. We were impressed with what we ordered, but Tommy did comment on the fact that his entrée could have been bigger. Playing devil’s advocate I will say this is something Tommy usually always says whenever we go out since he has an insatiable appetite. 🙂 And to be fair, the waitress did suggest we order cheese and charcuterie, an appetizer, a salad or soup, and then an entrée because the portions tended to start smaller and then increased as the dinner courses progressed.

I left the restaurant quite stuffed and I am also known for my insatiable hunger, so I guess it just depends on the person!

I got to Ripple a little earlier than expected so I decided to order a cocktail while I waited for Tommy. I had heard from a couple of people that Ripple had great cocktails so I was eager to try one.

My fun cocktail. Ingredients included gran classico, lime juice, angostura, sugar, and procesco.

My fun cocktail. Ingredients included gran classico, lime juice, angostura, sugar, and prosecco.

Instead of ordering an appetizer from the appetizer list, Tommy and I opted to order three cheeses off the cheese menu for our appetizer. We chose a goat cheese, a cow cheese, and a sheepskin cheese.

Our cheese board. My favorite was the goat cheese.

Our cheese board. My favorite was the goat cheese.

For my entrée I ordered duck.

Slow roasted duck leg, confit, celeriac condiment, green olive aioli, cumin jus

Slow roasted duck leg, confit, celeriac condiment, green olive aioli, cumin jus

Tommy got the roasted pork loin.

Roasted pork loin, mustard seed sausage, sour apple, black trumpet purée, caramelized oat butter

Roasted pork loin, mustard seed sausage, sour apple, black trumpet purée, caramelized oat butter

And then for dessert we shared the baked butterscotch pudding. This was incredible! We scarfed it down.

Baked butterscotch pudding, spiced cream, toffee pieces

Baked butterscotch pudding, spiced cream, toffee pieces

We would probably go back again, but more likely to celebrate a special occasion (anniversary, birthday, etc) since it was a little pricey. For Valentine’s Day we were happy to indulge!

For more information about Ripple, go here.

QUESTION

How did you celebrate Valentine’s Day?

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating out in DC, Holidays

Leave a Reply

