Whirlwind Day

Yesterday was a crazy day.

It began waking up at 4am because I was on a 6am train to New York City for work. (For what it’s worth, it was my first time taking the Acela train. Loved it.) I love going to New York, whether if it’s for pleasure or work. I DO NOT love going to New York when it’s rainy, cold, and windy. Terrible idea. I had to stand in line in the freezing cold and windy rain for 40 minutes. Once I got into a cab, the day started getting better.

My work events went really well. My celebrity sighting’s included Jeff Bridges and being able to meet Nanette Lepore for about 5 minutes. (I also got to tour her design studio and showroom. It was awesome! I felt a little out of my element there, but oh well).

Before I knew it I was back on the train to D.C. at 3:05pm. I pulled into Union Station around 6:30pm and then jumped on the Circulator (a local bus line) to meet a friend at the Library of Congress Caucus Welcome and Reception. Up until last night I had never been to the Library of Congress. I have sent many friends and family members there to walk around and do the tour, but the timing never worked out for me to do one. Needless to say I was so impressed – the entire building is gorgeous! The walls, the ceiling, the floors, all of it.

photo (9)

photo (8)

photo (7)

If you haven’t been, I definitely recommend you going. In fact, I plan on going back to take the tour and walk around more.

We ended up leaving the reception a little early because I was STARVING and because Jessica and I were too busy gabbing away anyway. Our next stop? Tortilla Coast for some dinner and lots of chips, salsa, and queso. YUM-O. And more gabbing.

I was exhausted when I got home, but it was worth it. It was a busy day, but a good one too!

1 Comment

Filed under Eating out in DC, Things to do in DC, Travel

One response to “Whirlwind Day

  1. When I was in undergrad in DC I went to the Library of Congress to look at some books for my thesis. I love libraries in general and I didn’t want to leave! It is gorgeous in there, your photos definitely show that. A place like that makes reading feel magical.

Leave a Reply

