Ping Pong Dim Sum

Oh, hello there, yummy, delicious cocktail!

Lychee Martini

Lychee Martini

Last night after work, I met up with my friend Allison who has just recently moved to D.C. at one of my favorite happy hour spots (that usually turns into dinner because I eat so much), Ping Pong Dim Sum.

Ping Pong Dim Sum is located in Gallery Place/Chinatown and serves, you guessed it, dim sum daily. They also serve delicious cocktails. I will note up front that this is
“Americanized” dim sum – chances are, if you go to Chinatown in New York City (or any others in the U.S.) the food choices will not look the same, for better or worse. Better for those who prefer not to dally with super adventurous or slightly weird-looking food options and worse for those who say the quality of food is not the same and/or that it is just not authentic dim sum.

In any event, I think the food at Ping Pong is delicious. I also think dim sum in New York City, Boston, and San Francisco’s Chinatown’s respectively are delicious as well. This might explain why Allison and I came ravenous to happy hour last night and left completely stuffed and a little tipsy because of all the eating and drinking of two Lychee martinis (maybe the last part was just me!)

Some of the small dishes we ordered included: crispy duck spring rolls, honey roasted chicken puffs, king prawn and scallop sticky rice, lamb and date clay pot, char sui buns, chive dumplings, and prawn and crabmeat dumplings. My favorite dish last night was the prawn and crabmeat dumplings and my least favorite dish was the lamb and date clay pot – for some reason the marrying of all the tastes just didn’t do it for me.

QUESTION

Any other dim sum lovers out there? If so, do you prefer to eat “authentic” dim sum or do you prefer more “Americanized” dim sum?

3 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC

3 responses to “Ping Pong Dim Sum

  1. I have never been out to eat for dim sum (is it a type of dumpling?). Do you have recommendations of things for a newbie to order?

  2. Dim sum is a type of Chinese food prepared as small bite-sized or individual portions of food traditionally served in small steamer baskets or on small plates. Dim sum is also well known for the unique way it is served in some restaurants, traditionally the dim sum plates are carted around on small carts around the restaurant, allowing diners to pick and choose options as they please. (Ping Pong Dim Sum doesn’t do this).

    I would suggest any type of dumpling, spring rolls, and rice dishes for a newbie to try. Let me know if you end up going out for dim sum! (Incidentally there are some FABULOUS dim sum places in Atlanta. My family and I used to go all the time when I lived there). Let me know if you want some recs!

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 132 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

