Baby it’s Cold Outside

And I am so over it.

In the grand scheme of things, I know I shouldn’t be complaining about the weather here in D.C. considering there are other parts of the country that are getting pounded with snow and have freezing temperatures, but I am sooooooo ready for some spring-like weather. We are expected to have a winter storm come our way on Wednesday. Whether that actually happens or not remains to be seen, but it is definitely cold outside and definitely super windy. Even Violet, who loves her walks, cowers and closes her eyes when the wind blows.

I will admit, I have said that I hope the weather stays cool for the D.C. Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon in just under two weeks, I don’t really want super freezing temperatures either. Hopefully the weather will have time to figure itself out before the race. 😉

Training is going well. I ran 9 miles with a friend yesterday and seemed to do okay. While I felt like I could keep going, I also felt like I had been running awhile too – which I guess is normal. Today my left foot is a little sore (stupid plantar fasciitis!) and my right hip is sore, but otherwise I think my body is adjusting to all the running I have been doing. I plan to do some foam rolling tomorrow night, so maybe that’ll help the soreness.

I think I have settled on my during-the-race snacks – Gu Chomps and the jelly beans I bought at City Sports a few weeks ago. I haven’t tried the gu gel yet and I honestly don’t really have a desire to – the texture kind of freaks me out a little.

I was a little bummed at the beginning of last week – a few people who were originally signed up for the half marathon bowed out for several reasons. I still have two friends who are running the race, but since they have run a few half marathons before, the likelihood that we will be running together is small. (The others would have been first-timers like me). However, I am SUPER honored and excited that my friend Tiffany is coming from New York City to cheer me on for the race. I can’t wait to see her smiling face on race day!

Here is my workout plan for the rest of the week:

Monday: Stretch & Strengthen – DONE (I did “pull” exercises and weights)

Tuesday: 5 mile run

Wednesday: 3 miles cross-training or running (I cross-train on these days)

Thursday: 5 miles + strength (I usually do push-ups for my “strength” portion of the workout)

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 1-hour cross-training

Sunday: 10 mile run

Happy Monday!

1 Comment

Filed under Health & Fitness, Life in DC

One response to “Baby it’s Cold Outside

  1. Herps

    Herps is so over the cold too!

Leave a Reply

