30th Birthday Surprise

This past weekend was, oh, so much fun! As a birthday surprise I flew to Dallas so I could partake in the big 3-0 birthday festivities for my dear, dear friend Katie. There has been a lot of celebrating this specific number birthday as you’ll remember I flew out to L.A. last December to celebrate my friend Sarah turning 30.

I had already been well-versed for this big milestone birthday, spending the past 2 months or so excitedly planning the party that Katie and her boyfriend would be hosting at their house over the phone with Katie on our weekly chats, but what Katie didn’t know was Jon and I had been planning the surprise of my coming to Dallas to attend the party! In the words of Katie ” we are very, very sneaky people”!

The party and the weekend were a huge success.

I got in late on Friday night (Tommy stayed behind to take care of Violet). After Katie and I did some catching up and some party prep (making agua frescas for Katie’s Fiesta! themed party) we called it a night, as we had a very busy day the next day!

We allowed ourselves to sleep in until about 8:45am or so. After having some coffee and whipping up a quick breakfast we set to work on decorating some of the house for the party later.

Decorating Collage

At around 11:30am we took a pause in our decorating because it was time for us to go to the spa for 4 hours! Katie’s boyfriend treated Katie, her friend Liz from law school, and me to the spa for the afternoon so we could relax and unwind before the party (and most likely keep out of his hair as he was manning his own responsibilities for the party ๐Ÿ™‚ ). We each indulged in a facial, a massage, and a manicure and then enjoyed a lovely lunch together. Thanks to Liz, we also enjoyed a couple glasses of delicious wine with lunch.

Here is a picture of the super cute gift she gave Katie – a darling Lily Pulitzer wine carrier, Lily Pulitzer tumblers, and fun cocktail napkins.

photo (7)

Once we were freshly spa-ed, Katie and I came home, jumped in the shower, got ready for the party, and then did last minute things around the house before guests arrived. Her boyfriend did an awesome job of manning the party food catered by Blue Mesa Grill, the bounce house (yes – he got a bounce house for the party!) and the margarita machine and kegs.

Party Prep collage

Before we knew it, it was party time!

Liz and me with the guest of honor for the evening. You'll notice her super cute wine glass!

Liz and me with the guest of honor for the evening. You’ll notice her super cute wine glass!

There were also 2 pinatas for party entertainment - one filled with candy and another filled with small bottles of liquor. Here I am spinning Katie around before she starts swinging.

There were also 2 pinatas for party entertainment – one filled with candy and another filled with small bottles of liquor. Here I am spinning Katie around before she starts swinging.

There was also plenty of beer pong and flip cup to go around throughout the night!

Me playing in the bounce house.

Me playing in the bounce house.

I can't believe we have each already turned 30 or are going to turn 30. Where does time go?!

I can’t believe we have each already turned 30 or are going to turn 30. Where does time go?!

As you can imagine Saturday night was a very late night.

On Sunday, I slept in until about 10am and then quickly got ready as I had two brunches to get to so I could see more people during my weekend jaunt. After the second brunch, I walked around the mall with my friends Christina and Lauren.

I will say that for the short time I was in Dallas I was able to see a lot of people, which I was extremely happy about and fortunate. It’s hard to believe that it’s been 7 years since I moved from Dallas….I always love going back and re-living my college days. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The first Sunday brunch on the itinerary.

The first Sunday brunch on the itinerary at Company Cafe on the Katy Trail.

Hope you all are having a wonderful Monday so far!

6 Comments

Filed under Travel

6 responses to “30th Birthday Surprise

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 22 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Come on Spring! | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Come on Spring! | Bee in DC

  4. Pingback: 30. | Bee in DC

  5. Pingback: Another “Currently” | Bee in DC

  6. Pingback: Ava’s Easter Basket | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

