Powered Through!

I got back from a work trip to New York City earlier this afternoon. I had taken the train up to the city on Tuesday morning, stayed the night over, and then headed back to D.C. on another train earlier today. As usual the trip was nonstop busy, which is always great, but exhausting.

I had been planning to go for a run this evening back in D.C. to keep up with my working out 5 days during the week and resting over the weekend. I knew doing this was risky because I am always so zonked out after coming back from any work trip. I thought it might be doable if I was able to steal in a quick catnap on the train home. Of course, as my luck would have it, I ended up working straight through the 3 hour and some change ride – emailing, working on briefings, calling people. I could hardly believe it when the train was pulling into Union Station.

I am happy and proud to announce that I did in fact work out! It was a close one though. I was soooo tired and the last thing I wanted to do was go to the gym. Drinking water and hopping into bed sounded much more appealing. I made a slight compromise, I didn’t go for a run, but I did do 30 minutes on the elliptical and stretched a little, which felt amazing after sitting on the train for so long.

I do plan on running tomorrow morning. 🙂

As tough as it was to get to the gym, I feel sooooo much better after working out. I’m more awake and energized, and am so glad I made myself do something active. On the agenda for the rest of the night? Maybe (finally) watching the season premiere of Mad Men and then going to bed early. 🙂

Have a great night!

QUESTION

Have you ever made yourself workout when it was the last thing you wanted to do? If so, ow did you feel afterward?

1 Comment

Filed under Health & Fitness, Travel

One response to “Powered Through!

  1. Pingback: Hodge Podge | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

