Hodge Podge

Today’s post is going to be a smattering of different things. I guess it shows where my head is currently!

I begin with yesterday’s promise of getting back to you about my first GW Alumni Community Outreach and Service Committee meeting. Three other girls and I met at Vapiano, a restaurant that serves pasta, pizza, and salad (as well as having a pretty sweet happy hour), and we managed to have a very productive meeting over glasses of wine, pasta, amidst sports fans and happy hour goers. So the planning one event for the semester? Not really a thing. The President of the Committee told us she hoped we could host/coordinate an event once a month for alumni. Another girl and I cautioned with managing expectations. As it stands we plan on hosting our first event in early May, a happy hour, and then following up with a more service-specific event in either June or July. I’m looking forward to working with this group of people and hope that are events start to become widely attended. We are definitely in the very early stages of developing this alumni association group. Bring it on!

In other news, this week flew by for me with a work trip to New York City earlier this week and preparing for another work trip to New York City and Boston next week. I’m excited for the weekend. I plan on devoting some serious time and focus on Tommy and my big 30th birthday plans and our weekend trip to Annapolis, as well as catching up on this past week’s TV shows I was unable to watch, delving more into my book for book club, and catching up on some phone dates I had to reschedule because of above mentioned work trip. On Sunday, my friend Jessica and I are grabbing brunch at the new Gordon Biersch by the ball park before we catch the Nationals taking on the Atlanta Braves (Jessica is a Braves fan…)

D.C. has finally gotten the memo that its Spring, although I wonder if there was some miscommunication at the beginning of the week when it felt more like summer with 80 degree temperatures.  Luckily starting last night, the temperature dropped a little and according to the  weather forecast, the D.C. area is in for some typical spring weather the next week. Yippee! While I was glad it wasn’t freezing anymore, the 60-65 degree 5:30am morning runs this week were a little perplexing to me as someone who enjoys running in cooler weather rather than hotter weather. Training for my second half marathon in July should be a lot of fun….

Hope you have a fabulous weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under Eating out in DC, Health & Fitness, Life in DC, Things to do in DC

One response to “Hodge Podge

  1. Pingback: Gordon Biersch/Navy Yard – Ballpark | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

