5am baking

What did you all do this morning at 5:00am?

Normally, I would have been getting up to go workout, but today I had to postpone my workout so I could do some baking! My work is having their annual staff bake sale today and I had offered weeks ago to bake some goodies for it. Somehow time got away from me (of course) and while I did still manage to bake something to contribute it was nothing creative or complicated. I basically chose to bake sugar cookies because I already had the ingredients in my kitchen, which was a plus because there was absolutely no time to hit up a grocery store.

Before I started anything, a hot cup of coffee was calling my name:

photo (6)

As I prepared everything else for cookie making and baking, I let the butter sit out to soften a bit before I creamed it with the sugar.

photo

Next came the mixing of flour, baking soda, and baking powder.

photo (1)

Then I creamed the softened butter and sugar together.

photo (2)

Up next was combining the butter and sugar and the floury mix with two eggs and a dabble of vanilla extract in my trusty Kitchen Aid mixer.

photo (3)

After everything was mixed together I laid out the cookies on baking sheets.

photo (4)While I waited for the cookies to bake in the oven, I cut tissue paper into squares and snipped ribbon pieces off a spool which would be used to individually wrap these cookies, as requested by the bake sale lead.

photo (7)

Something started smelling delicious! I guess Violet thought so too since I heard her whining to be let out of the bedroom as soon as I took the cookies out of the oven.

photo (5)

My baked goodies all wrapped up!

photo (8)

photo (9)

Hopefully my co-workers will like these cookies as much as Tommy, Violet, and I did this morning!

QUESTION:

Any bakers out there? What is your most favorite thing to bake?

3 Comments

Filed under Things to do in DC

3 responses to “5am baking

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 27 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Flourless Almond Chocolate & Peanut Cookies | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 142 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

