Kushi

I was able to kill two birds with one stone this past weekend!

For our first official date night, Tommy and I went to dinner at Kushi Izakaya & Sushi on Friday night. You may remember Kushi was also on my List of the Top 7 D.C. Restaurants Where I Need to Eat a Meal. The 2-year or so waiting period it took for me to finally get to this restaurant was well worth it. It was delicious. Tommy and I enjoyed everything we ordered and we couldn’t complain about our seats either! (Tommy did mention if Kushi had really wanted to knock it out of the park, the tapas portions could have been bigger, but you know).

Kushi

By choice, we got prime seats in front of the open kitchen.

I had heard that Kushi served delicious cocktails. I wasn't led astray. This is the French Sparkle.  St. Germain Elderflower Liquor, Liqueur de Violettes, & sparkling wine.

I had heard that Kushi served delicious cocktails. I wasn’t led astray. This is the French Sparkle. (St. Germain Elderflower Liquor, Liqueur de Violettes,
& sparkling wine)

Even though Kushi is a Japanese restaurant, all of their food is served tapas style. They have all the traditional Japanese dishes readily available (and some new creations), but they are in much smaller portions. This is to explain why Tommy and I ordered so many things, one because we were starving and two, we shared all the different plates.

Kushi 5

We started off with an order of avocado maki and one order of Futomaki (omelet, avocado, cucumber, pickled daikon).

Kushi 6

I am a creature of habit. Whenever I go to a sushi place I HAVE to order salmon roe.

Next up, the Beef Katsu, (panko crusted and deep fried ).

Next up, the Beef Katsu, (panko crusted and deep fried ).

Beef Short Rib.

Beef Short Rib.

Brussel Sprouts.

Brussel Sprouts.

Shrimp Tempura (with creamy mayo).

Shrimp Tempura (with creamy mayo).

Grilled Chicken Mini Donburi, (with thinly sliced onions).

Grilled Chicken Mini Donburi, (with thinly sliced onions).

After all this food, Tommy was still hungry so he ordered another maki roll.

Ume Shiso (pickled salty plum & perilla).

Ume Shiso (pickled salty plum & perilla).

Our happy waiter.

Kushi 10

We would DEFINITELY come back to Kushi. It can get a little pricey, but we both think it is worth it. I have noticed that Kushi does do a lot of Living Social and Groupon deals so be on the lookout and you can save some dinero while eating some great food!

I liked the mural on the wall.

I liked the mural on the wall.

For more information on Kushi, go here.

1 Comment

Filed under Date Night, Eating out in DC

One response to “Kushi

  1. Pingback: Date Night – Iron Man 3 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

