Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon Training & Trip Update

This Sunday will mark my completed first 2 weeks of training for my 12-week training program for my second half marathon I will be running later in the summer. I’m feeling pretty good. 🙂

As I mentioned earlier, I am following Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 training plan. Observations I have made comparing the Novice 1 & 2 training programs are:

  • Higdon has done away with a “stretch and strengthen” day and has added “pace runs”.  I’m not exactly sure why he decided not to included “stretch and strengthen” days. I haven’t felt a difference in my training either way yet, I’m just more curious as to how he came about that decision. I wasn’t sure I would like the “pace” running days. Higdon explains these runs as running at your race pace. All the other runs should be run pretty relaxed and comfortably. Obviously the ideal goal is to complete the other non-pace runs, but if you need to stop and rest and readjust you can. Pace running days are meant to act like little race days – you are running for speed. I completed my first pace run on Wednesday and I was very pleased with my time for 3 miles. 
  • Another difference is I get two rest days a week following the Novice 2 plan as opposed to one following the Novice 1 plan. I like this (because who doesn’t like a rest day?) but so far I have been using one rest day, usually a Monday, to take a break from running but I attend a Pilates or yoga class at Vida. I find this helps me get in a proper amount of stretching and core strengthening.

Travel plans are coming along nicely as well!

Christina and I have since bought our plane tickets out West (I did this last night and am still reeling over how much I spent on my ticket. I really should have bitten the bullet sooner but the high $400-ish price tag was stopping me a few weeks ago. After regularly receiving updates from Kayak on my flight fare I ended up buying the same ticket as before but for around $500 this time. I decided to buy it now because Kayak predicted the price only increasing. GAH!)

Our rental car is booked. (We plan on driving from San Francisco to wine country and back). I used Costco for this and as before it didn’t let me down!

I have also created a loose itinerary for us for our trip taking in account all of the wonderful winery and restaurant recommendations we are receiving.  Obviously some things will change and we still have winery reservations to make (since most places suggest making reservations ahead of time), but it feels good to have a basic outline on paper. 🙂

Hope you are having a wonderful day!

1 Comment

Filed under Health & Fitness, Travel

One response to “Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half Marathon Training & Trip Update

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 32 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

