Mother’s Day Weekend

I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend celebrating their moms!

Since my mom happens to live in D.C., I was fortunate to be able to spend her special day with her. Incidentally, so were Tommy and his mom as Tommy flew to Maine on Thursday to spend the weekend with his family.

My original weekend plans with my mom had to be altered slightly since I came home from Range on Thursday night to an unpleasant situation at home. To make a very long story short, we have had an ongoing problem of our living room ceiling leaking sporadically. This started a month or two after we moved into our condo, which it shouldn’t have even happened since our condo is new and we are the first tenants to live in our condo. We are on the Penthouse level of our condo building and it turns out our entire buildings HVAC unit sits right above our living room.  This normally wouldn’t be a problem, but the original roofing on our condo is total crap. It took three years of us complaining about leaks in our home and technicians and construction workers having to repair our ceiling countless times for them to finally decide to completely remove the original roofing and replace it with something better. Too bad this decision couldn’t have been made before Thursday…

Oh, hi there big whole in my ceiling.

Oh, hi there big whole in my ceiling.

What my living room looked like all day and all night Friday.

What my living room looked like all day and all night Friday through Saturday morning.

This “situation” if you will, lasted until 10:00am on Saturday (the leaking finally stopped sometime during the night on Friday. The roof repairers promised to come back early Saturday to patch up the holes), which was really sad since I had to cancel my plans to run the Susan G. Komen 5k race with my mom and one of my neighbors. After the race we had planned on enjoying a delicious celebratory brunch at the Hamilton. (As I mentioned before, my mom and I participating in this walk/race has become a tradition for us since my mom is a proud cancer survivor). However, my mom and Diane absolutely rocked it on Saturday. I was so proud of them!

Woot woot!

Woot woot!

Even though our Saturday plans changed I was so relieved nothing got disturbed for Sunday. Why? Because I had been planning for months to treat my mom and me to the spa for the day at Elizabeth Arden’s Red Door Spa in Pentagon City! We each had a massage, a facial, lunch at the spa, a pedicure, a manicure, and then a make-up refresher. Sometimes you just need to pamper your mom. 🙂 It was a fabulous day all around! I love you, mom.:-)

QUESTION:

What did you do for Mother’s Day?

3 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC, Health & Fitness, Holidays, Life in DC

3 responses to “Mother’s Day Weekend

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 29 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Navy Town, here we come! | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 32 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

