Navy Town, here we come!

Before driving to Annapolis on Saturday, I woke up a little earlier than usual to knock out running 6 miles with my friend Katie per my half marathon training plan. We started our run at my place and then headed over to the tidal basin, ran around the tidal basin, run up to the Capitol and then ended back at my place. It felt really good to get the run out-of-the-way and I was very grateful Katie was such a good sport about running so early in the morning!

Soon after I came back from my run my mom came over for a quick visit to wish Tommy a happy birthday and to give him his gift. Yep, the hubby turned the big 3-0 on Saturday!

photo (41)

Mom’s fabulous birthday present to Tommy, a portrait of Violet!

A little while later we were on the road. Coincidentally my friend Lindsay had texted me the night before to let me know that she and her boyfriend (a friend of ours as well) were also planning on going to Annapolis on Saturday and were planning on going to eat lunch at Cantler’s as well. (Which is what Tommy and I were planning on doing). This was totally unplanned and she hadn’t even thought anything of it until she read my blog post about our Annapolis trip! She suggested meeting up with us for lunch. It worked out perfectly!

Unfortunately we decided not to eat at Cantler’s due to the overcast weather (in my opinion while Cantler’s has a fabulous outdoor area on the water to noosh on, the inside isn’t that great). Per my friend Jessica’s recommendation we found ourselves at a super cute restaurant, the Boatyard Bar & Grill.

photo (33)

Needless to say we ordered a TON of delicious, delicious food!

Lindsay and I each got a Grapefruit Crush (so good!) and we decided to order the Crab and Artichoke dip for the table as an appetizer.

Lindsay and I each got a Grapefruit Crush (so good!) and we decided to order the Crab and Artichoke dip for the table as an appetizer.

Next up came the food!

BY2

From the left: Lindsay ordered a baker’s dozen of oysters on the half shell with a Titanic salad. I ordered the mussels with a Caesar salad (not pictured). Mario ordered the fish tacos. Tommy ordered the pan seared mahi mahi.

And to top it off, a special lunch dessert in honor of the birthday boy. Lindsay and Mario thanks so much for a wonderful lunch. Not only was it amazing, we loved catching up with you guys!

Happy 30th Tommy!

Happy 30th Tommy!

After lunch we parted ways with Lindsay and Mario (who were headed to another friend’s graduation party) and drove over to our Bed & Breakfast, the Gatehouse (full post on this coming on Wednesday!)

I took a little cat nap (while Tommy read) before the wedding. Before we knew it, it was time to watch our friend Scott marry the woman of his dreams, Mercedes. 🙂 (More on this in tomorrow’s Tuesday Tidbits!)

On Sunday, after eating a yummy breakfast cooked by our hosts at the Gatehouse we drove around town and to another area nearby called Edgewater to take in the sites. Before heading back to D.C. we decided to stop at Yellow Fin Steak & Fish House for lunch. Tommy partook in the all-you-can-eat buffet and I ordered the lobster mac ‘n’ cheese. YUM!

We hit Costco on the way home to pick up some party supplies for Tommy’s birthday party next weekend and came home to a very happy Violet and to our ceiling leaking…again…At least we had a wonderful weekend!

4 Comments

Filed under Health & Fitness, Travel

4 responses to “Navy Town, here we come!

  1. Pingback: The celebration continues! | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Check-in: Things I Want to Do in 2013 | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 42 | Bee in DC

  4. Pingback: Point Reyes and Wine Country Trip: Day 2 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

