Daikaya

I met my mom for lunch today in Gallery Place/Chinatown. I had been wanting to eat at Daikaya for a while and thought my getting a half day today at work was the perfect reason for a mother/daughter lunch. 🙂

Daikaya is a traditional Sapparo ramen shop. Ramen is a Japanese noodle dish. Sapparo is known as the home of miso ramen.

The first floor of the restaurant is the ramen shop (Daikaya), the second floor is Izakaya (a place known to serve comfort food, accompanied by drinks). Since mom and I were interested in trying the ramen (I read somewhere that the chef flew in the ramen noodles from Japan) we ate at Daikaya, but I think it would be fun to return to eat at Izakaya too.

The outside of the restaurant, a very unassuming building. Mom walked right by it because she thought it was an abandoned warehouse!

The outside of the restaurant, a very unassuming building. Mom walked right by it because she thought it was an abandoned warehouse!

We perused the menu for about 2 minutes before we decided what we wanted. While we waited I ordered a Japanese green iced tea.

Not going to lie, I didn't really care for it. Embarassingly I think it was because it wasn't sweet like I expected it to be.

Not going to lie, I didn’t really care for it. embarrassingly I think it was because it wasn’t sweet like I expected it to be.

I thought the menu design was very interesting.

I thought the menu design was very interesting.

Mom got the Shio Ramen.

On the menu it is described as the most delicate and aromatic ramen.

On the menu it is described as the most delicate and aromatic ramen. Mom says it is also the ramen that most closely resembles the ramen packs you see in grocery stores.

Mom urged me to try the Shoyu Ramen. I loved it!

A very dark, rich soy sauce is used in this ramen, along with roasted garlic and caramel tones.

A very dark, rich soy sauce is used in this ramen, along with roasted garlic and caramel tones, and an egg.

For a quick, delicious lunch Daikaya is your place!

3 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC

3 responses to “Daikaya

  1. Pingback: Post Birthday Glow | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 83 | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 151 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

