Flashback Sunday – The Babysitters Club

Happy Monday everyone! Hope everyone had a great weekend and has even better Fourth of July plans coming this week.

I had a little flashback Sunday if you will. As I am sure I am not alone, I grew up loving and reading Ann M. Martin’s the Babysitters Club book series. I honestly think I had all of them at one point. My love for reading came about at a really early age and my parents were none too pleased to buy me all the books I wanted. They also accompanied me to the library A LOT. My favorite babysitter was Mary Anne Spier and then later added Claudia Kishi to the mix. I think when I was a lot younger I identified with Mary Anne because she was a little quieter than her friends and loved to read. Later on, I began to admire Claudia’s unique fashion sense. 🙂

Anyway I was taking some much needed couch and TV time Sunday evening and as I was scrolling threw my Netflix options, I stumbled upon the Babysitter’s Club TV series! Anyone remember when those came out circa 1990-1993? I vaguely remember watching a few of these episodes back in the day. I actually didn’t realize there were a lot more that I had never seen. I re-watched Mary Anne and the Brunettes, Stacey’s Big Break, and Claudia and the Missing Jewels about 25 years later…I also watched two episodes I had never seen, The Babysitter’s Club Special Christmas and Stacey Takes a Stand. There are also 6 other episodes I haven’t seen yet, that I may watch throughout this week as I relive my childhood. No shame, no shame.

Here is a fun link I found when Googling Babysitter’s Club.

The rest of my Sunday was perfection. It began with a nice 10k run in the morning (only 3 more weeks until my half marathon out west!), followed by a neighbor’s BBQ and then some relaxing and productivity around the house with Tommy and Ms. Violet.

QUESTION:

Did you ever read the Babysitters Club books? If so, who was your favorite babysitter and why?

1 Comment

Filed under Health & Fitness, Life in DC, Things to do in DC

One response to “Flashback Sunday – The Babysitters Club

  1. Pingback: Have a Lovely 4th Weekend! | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

