Quiet Friday

I hope everyone had a wonderful July 4th! For my DC-ers, the sun does exist. 🙂 While muggy and hot, it was so great to see the sun finally come out. I am very happy the weather didn’t put a dim on America’s birthday.

As you can probably tell from my post yesterday, I did a lot of eating and some drinking. My day started off with sleeping in (I slept for 11 hours total!) until 10am. I have not done that in I don’t know how long. I am a morning person (I love waking up at 5-5:30am every day to work out) and I generally don’t need that much sleep at night (I probably get between 6-7 hours usually), but sometimes my body just says “yes you do, Maya”. As soon as I woke up I went for a 3 mile run per my training plan. (The race is 2 weeks, 2 days away!!) After that I quickly showered and then Tommy, my mom and I ate a quick brunch and ran some errands in Clarendon before heading to a BBQ and a rooftop fireworks watching party. It was a great day – productive and relaxed.

Fireworks!

Fireworks!

Celebrating in style. :-)

Celebrating in style. 🙂

Today I am back in the office.

It was so strange going to work on the metro. It’s usually so crowded and hustling and bustling, but there were hardly any people riding it today. I guess most people either decided to take the day off or got the day off from work. I definitely could have taken today off myself, but to be honest I was looking forward to a “quiet” work day where I could get a lot of stuff down without meetings, calls, and co-worker pop-ins constantly.

I stepped out of the office to run a couple of errands and popped by Sweet Green to pick up lunch.

Gazpacho! Local tomatoes, cucumbers, green and red peppers, onion, garlic, jalapeños and local peaches. Yum-o.

Gazpacho!
Local tomatoes, cucumbers, green and red peppers, onion, garlic, jalapeños and local peaches. Yum-o.

Tommy was sent home at noon by his boss to “enjoy the day”. LUCKY. I have a few more things I’d like to cross of my list before heading home to start the weekend. Later tonight Tommy, my mom and I are going to the Marine Barracks parade on 8th Street. We have never been so we are excited to go, particularly Tommy who served in the Marines several years ago. Unbeknownst to him I bet he’ll get waves of nostalgia and sentimentality. 🙂 Be on the lookout for pictures next week.

Have a safe and happy weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in DC, Things to do in DC

Leave a Reply

