Working Sunday Brunch at Boxcar Tavern

I’m not sure why this is, but it’s been awhile since I have been out to brunch. I LOVE brunch so this realization was a tad weird to comprehend. I was able to break my dry spell of no brunch this past Sunday when my friend Lindsay and I met for a fun + working brunch at Boxcar Tavern in Eastern Market.

It was a fun brunch because it’s always a good time when Lindsay and I get together and it was a working brunch because we were both planning an upcoming college alumni picnic we are leading the charge on (more on that later!)

First things first.

Coffee please!

Coffee please!

Boxcar Tavern keeps their warm caffeinated drinks very simple, no lattes or cappuccinos here. Just plain coffee with half and half and sweetener/sugar if you like.

I contemplated not ordering my usual brunch standby, but just couldn’t do it.

Poached Eggs Benedict Served with Toasted Brioche, Sautéed Baby Spinach, Prosciutto & Hollandaise. Side of Fruit.

Poached Eggs Benedict
Served with Toasted Brioche, Sautéed Baby Spinach, Prosciutto
& Hollandaise. Side of Fruit.

Lindsay was feeling eggs too! Albeit probably a healthier choice than me…

photo (63)

Egg white omelette with a side of bacon and fruit.

We enjoyed our food and had a very productive planning and brainstorming session…until our significant others called to say their plans together (they were off racing cars somewhere – boys will be boys) had finished early and could they join us for brunch?

Once the four of us were together we decided to leave Boxcar Tavern and go next door to Tunnicliffs Tavern where the boys ordered brunch (french toast and an omelette ) and Lindsay and I each ordered a mimosa.

Yay for a great Sunday morning!

QUESTION:

Do you consider yourself a “brunch” person?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating out in DC

Leave a Reply

