Put a “Cork” in it!

Forgive the cheesiness, it’s been a long day my friends!

On Tuesday night my friend Tammy and I finally made it to Cork on 14th Street NW. Well to be more precise, I finally made it to Cork (I have been meaning to eat an actual meal here for years – previous times I had been there for happy hour and for a wine tasting). Tammy and I had several dates scheduled to come here, but they kept getting postponed and/or rescheduled for various reasons.

We were not disappointed! Everything we ordered (Cork specializes in small plates) was very, very good.

I had a glass of Syrah.

I had a glass of red wine (Syrah) to start.

One thing I didn’t realize until dessert when the waitress kindly asked me to put my phone away was that Cork doesn’t allow patrons to take pictures of their food. Simply explained because some photos taken may not be complimentary or flattering for the restaurant. Well only because I was unaware of this prior to being told, I was able to snap photos of all our small plate choices minus dessert. (Though I was told this disclaimer was on their website). Here’s to hoping  my pictures can do Cork some justice because I would absolutely go back here to eat – as would Tammy.

Avocado, pistachios, toasted pistachio oil, sea salt, grilled bread.

Avocado, pistachios, toasted pistachio oil, sea salt, grilled bread.

Buttermilk Biscuits, daily preserve and charcuterie

Buttermilk Biscuits, daily preserve and charcuterie.

French Fries tossed with parsley, garlic, lemon, house-made ketchup.

French Fries tossed with parsley, garlic, lemon, house-made ketchup.

Tortellini, house-made ricotta, grilled corn puree, summer beans, sweet peppers.

Tortellini, house-made ricotta, grilled corn puree, summer beans, sweet peppers.

Grilled Hangar Steak, roasted fingerlings, mustard greens, salsa verde.

Grilled Hangar Steak, roasted fingerlings, mustard greens, salsa verde.

For dessert we ordered Lizzy’s Goat Cheese Cake with fresh berries and a cookie crumble crust. It was heavenly. Even though everything we ate was delicious, my favorite dishes were the avocado on grilled bread and the dessert.

Our Cork dinner date spurred a fun “tour” if you will for Tammy and our friend Miki. As of late the 14th street corridor has become a hot-bed for new, trendy, and delicious restaurants, as discussed here. While I have been to several (and Tammy has been to just about none – haha), there are a lot of new places I want to try. We plan to dine out at a different 14th street restaurant every month. We already have a dinner scheduled for November. Here’s to more yummy eating with good friends!

5 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC

5 responses to “Put a “Cork” in it!

  1. Pingback: 14th Street Eating Tour Has Begun! | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: A “Pig” Brunch | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Cafe Saint – Ex | Bee in DC

  4. Pingback: Current Thoughts from our 14th Street Eating Tour | Bee in DC

  5. Pingback: Komi | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

