Charlottesville Weekend

Last weekend Tommy and I took my mom to Charlottesville for the weekend for her birthday present.

With the exception of Tommy, mom and I had never been here before and were very excited to be exploring this (what we heard) beautiful part of Virginia. It is about a 2.5 hour drive from D.C. to Charlottesville. There are a lot of wineries sprinkled throughout this area as well.

Our first destination in Charlottesville was Monticello, Thomas Jefferson’s home.

Monticello baby!

Monticello baby!

To start our tour, we watched a 10 minute informational video about Thomas Jefferson’s life and accomplishments. Then we took a shuttle up to his home.

The vegetable gardens at Monticello.

The vegetable gardens at Monticello.

Tommy, mom and me in front of the historic home.

Tommy, mom and me in front of the historic home.

monticello 2

Back view of the home.

A few interesting tidbits about Thomas Jefferson:

  • He was the author of the Declaration of Independence and the Statute of Virginia for Religious Freedom
  • Third president of the United States
  • Founder of the University of Virginia
  • As a public official, historian, philosopher, and plantation owner, he served his country for over five decades.
 We enjoyed walking the grounds and touring the home for a couple of hours. I was kind of sad that we came a tad too early to see all the holiday decorations around Monticello. I bet it is simply stunning!
After we left Monticello we headed to our quarters for the evening, the Boars Head Inn, a resort that is owned be the University of Virginia (UVA). It was gorgeous.
The entrance.

The entrance.

The main building.

The main building.

I spy some holiday decorations!

I spy some holiday decorations!

The Boar’s Head prides itself on being a world-class retreat. In addition to offering golf and a spa, there is a gym, a “village” with shops, a world-reknowed restaurant, and just a stunning landscape to look at as you walk or run through the monstrous property.

The pond.

The pond.

A swing by the pond to enjoy.

A swing by the pond to enjoy.

Beautiful Weeping Willows leading towards the golf course.

Beautiful Weeping Willows leading towards the golf course.

The best part of the resort? A fireplace in our suite!

Which we enjoyed all night long.

Which we enjoyed all night long.

After cat-napping for an hour or so we all got ready to enjoy a yummy dinner out on the town. Thanks to the world of advice on Facebook I had plenty of suggestions on where we should dine that night. We choose to eat at Maya, naturally. 🙂

Maya is very close to the UVA campus and is self-described as a restaurant with a southern menu and local food.

The menu.

The menu.

For my drink of choice I settled on the Soul Pickle: with cruzan, midori, pineapple, and cucumber water.

For my drink of choice I settled on the Soul Pickle: with cruzan, midori, pineapple, and cucumber water.

photo 1 (1)

For my entree I got the  Baby Back Ribs. They were amazing. The meat just slid of the bones.

photo 2 (1)

Tommy got the Ancho rubbed Pork Tenderloin.

For dessert we decided to pick a few things up at a store and take them back to our suite to enjoy by the fire as we played Rummikub. Have you ever heard of this game? Tommy and I hadn’t, but quickly grew to love it.

Pumpkin cheesecake!

Pumpkin cheesecake!

Playing some Rummikub.

Playing some Rummikub.

The next day we indulged ourselves with the resort’s buffet breakfast after walking the property for a bit. Tommy being the good soul he is worked out at the gym while mom and I power-walked.

I had gotten the Bed & Breakfast package for the weekend. The breakfast shouldn’t be confused with the Boar’s Head’s famous brunch. Personally both looked comparable, but I have heard such rave reviews about the brunch I would be intrigued to come back and try it. I think a few more options are offered.

Latte.

Latte.

My first plateful of food.

My first plateful of food.

After breakfast we decided to check out of our suite, drive into historic downtown Charlottesville to walk around for a bit. Before we left for D.C. we also stopped by Michie Tavern to look at its General Store. There were so many cute things in there! Mom bought a bottle of blueberry wine for me and a few bottles of hard apple cider for her.

Cheers to a wonderful weekend in Charlottesville! As I have told many people, I would go back here in a heartbeat.

Hope everyone has a great weekend. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Charlottesville Weekend

  1. Pingback: 31st Year | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Babymoon at the Inn at Perry Cabin | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

