Pumpkin Pie is Gone, Shopping is On!

Full disclosure, I “borrowed” this saying from one of the many retail emails I got yesterday promoting Black Friday.

First of all, I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. It’s hard to believe that another Turkey day is on the books. As mentioned on Wednesday, Tommy and I ate our Thanksgiving meal with my mom on Wednesday night so we could celebrate the holiday with my mom before she flew out to Palm Springs to see her parents and siblings for the weekend.

Thanksgiving Day was everything I had hoped it would be – lots of eating – a LOT (so many leftovers!), watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving parade, getting a Cowboys win against the Oakland Raiders, and getting sweet texts and phone calls from loved ones throughout the day. I didn’t do the Turkey Trot this year – I figured a) I wouldn’t be doing this race had we stuck to our original plan of going to Maine for the holiday and b) there was no way I could run a 5k after all the eating I did the night before.

One thing that I did to according to tradition was partake in some Black Friday shopping with my friend Liz and her friend Amy. As you may remember from last year, while I love Black Friday shopping, I firmly stand behind not going out shopping at all on Thanksgiving Day. To each their own, but I feel like the day should be spent with family and friends, eating delicious food, not buying things. There is plenty of time for that.

I did score some cute finds in the wee hours of the morning today and made a nice dent in my Christmas shopping list!

A mustache bottle opener. Great stocking stuffer for someone!

A mustache bottle opener. Great stocking stuffer for someone!

A Christmas-themed spatula for one of my two "secret santas" I have been assigned to.

A Christmas-themed spatula for one of my two “Secret Santas” I have been assigned to.

I guess it is a sign of the times, but I’ve noticed my “grown-up” gifts have now gotten some serious competition for “kiddo gifts” this year.

ADORABLE!!!

ADORABLE!!!

Hope everyone enjoys the rest of their Friday! Later Tommy and I plan on going to the Hunger Games: Catching Fire and then going out for dessert after the movie for our monthly date night, on me! More on that later. 🙂

QUESTION:

Score any great Black Friday deals?

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Life in DC

Leave a Reply

