Bluejacket

I finally made my way to Bluejacket, a brewery and tavern, on Friday night in my hood.

It was a scene. I had sort of anticipated it being one since there had been so much buzz about this place before it had even opened up. I will admit, it was cool. The brewery is set in one of the old boilermaker warehouses, so it has that industrial-edgy feel, but also manages to incorporate a cozy-tavern feel as well – which is saying a lot since Friday night was rainy and very, cold!

Since the bar area was so packed, my friends Meg and Maria and I were able to snag a table in the restaurant section of the place. There were nice wooden tables of varying dinner party sizes, all had votive candles glowing on their tops.

photo 1

View upward from where I was sitting. There is a small second floor that looked to be reserved for a small party. I think there was also a bar up there too.

I decided to order a Bluejacket original, the White Album, a hoppy hefeweizen.

HOPPED-UP WHEAT ALE FEATURING PROMINENT AROMAS OF VANILLA, TOASTED WHEAT, BANANA  & A TOUCH OF CLOVE.

Hopped-up wheat ale featuring prominent aromas of vanilla, toasted wheat, banana, and a touch of clove.

Meg and me.

Meg and me.

The three of us were having such a great time we decided to stay for dinner.

Meg and I shared the crab deviled eggs appetizer.

Three halves, crab roe deviled yolks, mustard seeds.

Three halves, crab roe deviled yolks, mustard seeds.

And then I ordered the Tuscan Kale Caesar.

Gruyere croutons, boquerones, shaved pecorino.

Gruyere croutons, boquerones, shaved pecorino.

I was very impressed with the their menu – lots of different choices – salads, burgers, pastas, and various meat options (sausages, baby back ribss, etc)

I will definitely be coming back here!

QUESTION:

Are you a fan of breweries?

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating out in DC

Leave a Reply

