Figuring Out the (Workout) Routine

This week has been one big test – different routes to test (to and from work), different time departure tests (from home), and finally getting my workout routine figured out.

As you already know, I prefer to workout in the morning. I’m a morning person and that is just when I feel like working out. It is much harder for me to workout after work in the evenings than waking up at 5:20am to workout.

However my new commute has put a little, tangle, if you will into this lifestyle preference. Not a problem, just a re-working of where I workout, when I workout, and how long I workout. I have several options to still try, but let me tell you how this morning went.

I woke up at 5:20am and was out of the house by 6:00am. (In between I changed into my gym clothes, washed my face and brushed my teeth, walked Ms. V. and grabbed a mug of coffee and water for the car ride). I was parked in the garage right across from my office at 7:05am. At 7:15am I was walking into Vida Fitness Metropole and was on the treadmill by 7:20am.

I completed a nice 3.2 mile run and was leaving Vida at 8:35am after getting ready for work in the gym’s locker room (hair done – well, pulled into a ponytail, make-up – no eyeliner, and dressed).

I stopped into Bean and Bite for a bacon, cheese, and egg bagel sandwich and a cup of coffee and was at my desk by 9:00am.

Get in my belly!

Get in my belly!

Doable, absolutely. Preferable, not really. Just because there are so many added steps than what I am used to. Driving to the garage, parking in the garage, walking to the gym, working out, getting ready, and then walking back to the office. I did have a genius idea running on the treadmill, which I will share next week if all goes according to plan. 🙂

Last night for my workout I did an old favorite, Ballet Beautiful. I had every intention of working out at Vida, but for said reasons mentioned above I just couldn’t do it. To be fair a class I was really looking forward to got canceled so that deflated me a little.

I have hope for my growing pains new-move commute though. Stay tuned!

Hope everyone has a great weekend. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Health & Fitness

Leave a Reply

