Plaza Mexico

Something strange happened on Friday night guys.

I found something outside of D.C. that tasted better than what I had found previously in D.C. Mexican Food.

On Friday night, Tommy, my mom, and I decided to explore our new hood by venturing out to eat in Chesapeake Beach for dinner. Tommy had been hinting all week long that he wanted to try out the local Mexican spot one night so that’s where we found ourselves, at Plaza Mexico.  We were all pleasantly surprised at the outcome.

As I have said before, D.C. lacks good Tex-Mex food. The only restaurants I have found to be worth going to are Rosa Mexicano and Lauriol Plaza. However both aren’t described or billed as Tex-Mex places. The food at Plaza Mexico was good. I think any of my Dallas friends or family members would agree, it’s pretty good.

One for Chesapeake Beach, zero for D.C. 😉

The ambiance of the restaurant was chill. They had TVs at the bar area and people ranging from families, to older folks, to young professionals, and everyone else in between was there. It was PACKED, which I guess is a good sign. I can only imagine what this place looks like in the summer.

I decided to fully indulge in the experience and ordered a frozen margarita. THEY MAKE THEM STRONG HERE.

I decided to fully indulge in the experience and ordered a frozen margarita. THEY MAKE THEM STRONG HERE.

For our side, Tommy and I each got a chicken tamale.

For our side, Tommy and I each got a chicken tamale.

For my entree I got the ground beef taco salad. YUM!

For my entree I got the ground beef taco salad. YUM!

I definitely see Plaza Mexico becoming a local favorite of ours!

QUESTION:

Do you like Mexican food?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Chesapeake Beach

Leave a Reply

