Through Snow, Ice and Wind

Happy Friday folks!

Fellow DC-ers, anyone else thought that we’d for sure get a snow day today because, oh I don’t know, it actually snowed?!

The snow actually started last night. Yours truly had the extreme pleasure of driving in the snow and wind after my yoga class last night. Not going to lie some parts of my drive did get a little scary (and I have never been one to be nervous or anxious driving regardless of situation or condition). Luckily other drivers on the road were driving very cautiously (read: slowly), but there were some times I couldn’t even see the lane markers on the road. I assume other drivers had the same problem since there was a tacit understanding that we all stick to the right side of the road for our drives home.

It continued snowing all night long and temperatures dipped into the 20s.  Our deck, backyard, street and front yard were covered with snow. Yet somehow at 5am I failed to see an email saying the federal government was closed (my office follows the federal government for all office closures). So I slowly dragged myself out of bed and started packing. Per my original plan (before snow was in the forecast) I was going to go to the gym before work.

I had a pretty good workout at Vida, did 35 minutes on the eliptical. I am still figuring out my morning commute + squeezing in a workout, but I’m getting close to finding a few options that will work. After I left the gym on the way to work I stopped into Starbucks for breakfast.

Ham and Swiss Cheese panini and a skinny vanilla latte!

Ham and Swiss Cheese panini and a skinny vanilla latte! (I only ate half of the sandwich).

After being super productive at work in the morning my friend and colleague, Rebecca, and I went out on a lunch date. She suggested a Thai place near our office that I hadn’t heard of yet, DC Thai. I will definitely be coming back here for lunch (or even dinner if I’m in the neighborhood). It’s a cute, simple restaurant with speedy service. They have an $8.95 lunch special which includes an entree and rice and a serving of Tom Yum soup or a spring roll. Both Rebecca and I took advantage of this special.

We also both decided to order Thai iced teas.

photo 3 (1)

We both ordered a serving of the Tom Yum soup to begin with. Diners are able to choose either chicken, shrimp or vegetables and mushrooms in a spicy and sour lemongrass broth with tomatoes, cilantro and Thai herbs.

photo 2 (1)

For my entree I ordered the cashew nut dish. Rebecca ordered the red curry (not pictured). I was able to choose my meat (chicken) that was sauteed with roasted cashew nuts, onion, bell peppers, and scallions in a special house sauce.

photo 4A very good lunch indeed!

Hope you have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

QUESTION:

What is your favorite Thai dish?

1 Comment

Filed under Eating out in DC, Health & Fitness

One response to “Through Snow, Ice and Wind

  1. Pingback: Christmas Traditions I’d Like to Continue and Begin | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

