Mexican on the Waterfront

Yesterday I decided to try out one of two new restaurants at Yards Park that have the privilege of facing the waterfront, Agua 301. Agua 301 proclaims to be “modern Mexican” and specifically states that it isn’t Tex Mex, which I found funny.

Well for a “Modern Mexican” place, I thought Agua 301 was one of the better Mexican places in town.

Pardon the dreary, cloudy day, but we could see the water!

Pardon the dreary, cloudy day, but we could see the water!

Tommy and I decided to sit at the bar where he could have an equally good view of the water and the football playoff game being shown.

photo 1

Agua 301 has a fairly large bar area which I know will be enjoyed as we move into spring and the start of baseball season.

Since I was at a Mexican restaurant and had a “when in Rome” mentality, I ordered a delicious frozen peach margarita.

Just what the doctor ordered!

Just what the doctor ordered!

Of course any FOOL-proof test of a Mexican restaurant is its chips and salsa. The salsa was very, very, very good.

I could have eaten these all day long.

I could have eaten these all day long.

Later my mom came to join us as she was wrapping up some errands. Once she arrived she promptly ordered some guacamole.

We split this dish of goodness.

We split this dish of goodness.

Tommy fresh on his kick to eating healthier in 2013 decided to forgo chips, salsa, and guac and ordered a steak salad.

He said it was very tasty!

He said it was very tasty!

So glad this restaurant opened up in my (old) neighborhood!

QUESTION:

DMV-ers, have you been out to Yards Park lately?

2 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC

2 responses to “Mexican on the Waterfront

  1. Tommy Comeau

    Proof that I read this, it’s “fool proof” not “foul proof” 🙂

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

