In-Law Visit Part 1

This weekend we had some very important out-of-town guests, some members of Tommy’s immediate family! His parents, older sister and husband, and younger sister came from Maine to visit us and see our new house. We were so happy to host them and had such a fun time with them – please come out again and again Comeau family. 🙂

The Comeau clan (as I affectionately called them) arrived at the airport around 7:30pm on Friday and were in our house around 9pm. (They had to collect their luggage and get a rental car before driving out to Chesapeake Beach). I had dinner waiting for them upon arrival. I had made pork achiote using my trusty crock pot accompanied with guacamole and tortillas (the idea was to create a fajita or wrap of some kind), and a nice big salad. I figured they would be hungry, which they were. We spent the rest of the evening eating, chatting and catching up. Ms. V was very happy to have weekend guests. 🙂

photo 1 (1)

On Saturday, everyone slept in until 8am or so. Tommy and I cooked everyone a bacon,  scrambled egg, fruit salad, toast, and coffee breakfast, which everyone scarfed down.

Around 1pm or so we had all showered and were ready to venture out into the cold weather. Tommy and I wanted to take them to Skipper’s Pier for lunch since we had enjoyed eating there on Christmas Eve.

I sipped on a delicious Bloody Mary while we ordered.

photo 2 (1)

We ordered so many yummy things, (which I didn’t get to snap photos of, unfortunately) including fried pickles, onion rings, seafood platters, grilled salmon, a salmon salad, and a rock fish platter. Everyone claimed to have loved their food so I guess Skipper’s Pier was another success! We chatted with one of the owners for a bit (a husband and wife own the restaurant) and enjoyed getting to know our server, Brittany. After lunch we drove them around Chesapeake Beach for a bit and then headed home to unwind and nap, well Tommy, his dad, and brother-in-law did…while the ladies sat around and chatted some more and watched TV.

Soon I was back in the kitchen as I was planning on making a recipe I had found in Women’s Health, Farfalle with Chicken, Cremini Mushrooms, and Swiss Chard for dinner. My mom came over in the afternoon to see everyone and  helped me make another beautiful salad to eat with the pasta. The pasta recipe result was really good, I definitely plan on making this again. It’s not too difficult and it was quite healthy. For dessert my mom had made apricot biscotti and an angel food cake with blueberries, strawberries and whipped cream. YUM!!! We also had plenty of wine wine, beer and homemade sangria to sip on. 🙂 We all placated Tommy and his brother-in-law by watching the UFC fights that were on that night.

Violet quickly latched on to someone, Captain Handout AKA Tommy’s dad. The adoration and love was mutual!

photo 3 (1)

Our great day was slightly dimmed upon learning of the mall shooting in Columbia, Maryland earlier in the day. My thoughts and prayers go out to the victims families. I can’t believe we are hearing about another gun incident…when will it stop?

2 Comments

Filed under Life in Chesapeake Beach

2 responses to “In-Law Visit Part 1

  1. tommy

    What a fun weekend – loved having them. Thank you Maya for all of your efforts hosting my peeps!

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 78 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

