A Little Bit of Yoga in my (Chesapeake Beach) Life

Happy Monday!

I began today with a nice, soothing workout at the gym. I completed about 45 minutes on the recumbent bike while reading through an issue of TIME magazine. Since I ran yesterday I wanted to do something less impacting for my workout today. Tomorrow is another running day! I do have an 8k to train for…

I stopped at Starbucks to grab a little breakfast before heading into work.

YUM - and filling!

YUM – and filling!

On Friday night, Tommy and I headed to our first yoga class at Barefoot Holistic Studio in Prince Frederick – a 15 minute drive from our house. We went to the Hot Yoga Happy Hour class – you do an hour of yoga, followed by wine, tea, coffee, and snacks upstairs and some mingling with fellow yogis – or yogi wannabes. We loved the class! So much so that we each promptly bought a 5-class pass – well Tommy bought them both, mine was considered my Valentine’s Day present. πŸ™‚

I really liked our instructor – she was a great teacher in that she made sure everyone was with her for each movement and demonstrated moves accordingly. She was incredibly flexible and very knowledgeable. I think one of my yoga-focused goals is to be able to eventually do a split. Tommy nor I had ever done a hot yoga class so I wasn’t sure what to expect. It definitely got hot in the studio, but wasn’t unbearable by any means. The studio where we did yoga was very clean and spacious considering it’s not a terribly huge space if that makes sense.

Tommy enjoyed the class a lot and realized he needs to work on his flexibility. πŸ˜‰ We hope to take some other classes that are offered at this studio soon, such as Tai Chi and a mediation class. I can also see myself maybe getting a facial or massage here as well in the near future…

QUESTION:

Have you ever taken a hot yoga class before? What did you think?

3 Comments

Filed under Health & Fitness, Life in Chesapeake Beach

3 responses to “A Little Bit of Yoga in my (Chesapeake Beach) Life

  1. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day! | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 73 | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Friendsgiving Recap | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

