Setting My Intention

Good morning folks!

Under my original workout plan for the week that I set on Sunday night I should be getting ready to head to Vida to run 3 miles or so, but instead I am sitting at my dining room table, sipping some coffee, and writing this blog post! I decided to listen to my body again. After getting home last night I was so tired and so sore from my barre class I took in the morning I decided to make today a “rest” day and make it up this coming Sunday.

Even though today is now a non-workout day I still woke up at 5am so I could shower, eat breakfast at my house for a change (I usually eat once I get to the office) walk Violet, get my lunch together – all the normal morning routine things.

It's always Christmas time in the Mahoney/Comeau household!

It’s always Christmas time in the Mahoney/Comeau household!

I have set a new fitness goal for myself. Nothing too serious and completely attainable, I think. I want to improve my yoga practice. I have been regularly attending various yoga classes for the past several years. While I have certainly gotten a lot out of these classes – working up a sweat, relaxing and de-stressing, recently (last 2-3 months) I have developed a desire to dive deeper into yoga.

What does this mean?

  • I want to learn and understand all the terminology associated and included in yoga (such as Namaste and Savasana).
  • I want to make sure I am doing each yoga pose and movement correctly. Not that I think I “fake” certain moves, but sometimes I think I do them a little incorrectly. I really want to flesh out each part of movements to make sure I’m getting the most out of it.
  • I want to build on yoga positions I am currently good at and increase the flexibility and difficulty component.
  • I want to master the Crow position and be able to do a split.
  • I want to figure out which form of yoga I like best.

I’m excited for this yoga journey if you will. I think a lot of my “yoga wants” will be absolutely achievable, especially with my going to Barefoot yoga classes. Not that I didn’t or don’t get results from Vida yoga classes, but I’ve noticed two contrasts to both classes. 1) The classes are a tad smaller at Barefoot than Vida and 2) The two different instructors I have had at Barefoot really take the time to make sure everyone in the class is doing a pose correctly or that they look relaxed with their shoulders back and that their posture is good. It’s just more hands-on attention which I love. I will still go to Vida yoga classes when it works with my schedule.

With these two things how can I not improve my practice?!

QUESTION:

Any yogis out there?

1 Comment

Filed under Health & Fitness

One response to “Setting My Intention

  1. tiffany miller

    Can you teach me how to do a split too when you’re done 🙂 I am soooo not flexible! I’m sure you will achieve all of your goals super woman!!! I hope I am feeling better by Saturday, I can’t wait to see you guys and the new house!

Leave a Reply

