Warm My House!

On Saturday Tommy and I hosted a housewarming party for our friends and family. We were blessed with amazing weather on Saturday – mid 60s, so our guests were able to hang out on our deck and all the kiddos that came with their parents had a blast running around in our backyard, exploring our little creek, and playing in the mud!

We kind of decided to go big for this shindig. Those of you who know me well, know I love to throw a good party, but I also wanted to do something special because I was kind of enveloping this party into last year’s holiday party since we weren’t able to have our traditional annual holiday party because of when our move-in date fell (mid-December). I also wanted to spoil our guests since they were all so kind to drive out and devote a Saturday afternoon to us. We decided to make the party an “open house” so guests could come and go as they pleased!

First let’s start with the decorations.

I decided to play off a winter holiday/beach theme. You may wonder how I did this: first I kept out (didn’t put away with the bulk of Christmas decorations) certain “winter holiday” pieces and decorations (a snowman cookie jar, a sign that said “let it snow”, and some winter themed bath towels. Everything else I went beach themed, i.e. a crab and oyster motif, as well as a big sign on the deck that said “Beach” with a huge clam on it.

I ordered several sheets of adorable crab stickers on Etsy and stuck them on bottles of water we had put on our deck for our guests.

photo 1 (3)

photo 3 (1)

Also from Etsy, I had ordered crab cupcake toppers to put on the chocolate and vanilla cupcakes I had made.

photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (2)

For our party favor, I ordered a big box of Utz Crab chips to give to people as they left.

photo 1 (4)

photo 4 (1)

Moving onto the food and drink spread…

In addition to providing a selection of beer and wine, we had mimosas and…. a Bloody Mary Bar! I got this idea on Pinterest, of course. To view these websites where I got inspiration click here and here.

photo 5 (1)

A lot of people really liked the blue mason jars I used for the Bloody Marys. I picked them up at A.C. Moore on sale.

For food we brought in a local guy to shuck and serve oysters on the half shell to our guests. We also had:

  • Chicken Terriyaki (courtesy of my mom)
  • Sushi (courtesy of my mom)
  • Meatballs (courtesy of my mom)
  • Crab quiche (full size and mini crust-less ones)
  • Crust-less mini veggie quiches – recipe here
  • Homemade French Onion dip with chips – recipe here
  • Vanilla and chocolate cupcakes
  • And my friend Arlene was so sweet and brought some banana burritos (an Asian dish) to add to the spread

I was only able to snap TWO photos of our 4-hour party if you can believe it. The rest of the time I was running around like a crazy person.

photo 1 (5)

photo 2 (4)

Tommy and I had so much fun hosting everyone. We were really touched and honored that so many dear people came out to celebrate with us – it really meant a lot.

Here’s to many more par-tays in Chesapeake Beach!

3 Comments

Filed under Life in Chesapeake Beach

3 responses to “Warm My House!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 69 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Game Night! | Bee in DC

  3. Pingback: Gals Holiday Ornament Exchange | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

