Getting the “Crew” Out of My Life – for 40 days

It’s that time again folks, Lent. Today is Ash Wednesday, which is the first day of Lent in the Western Christian calendar. Lent is described as a movable fast that occurs 46 days before Easter. It is believed that Jesus spent 40 days fasting in the desert, where he endured temptation by Satan. Ash Wednesday marks the beginning of this 40-day liturgical period of prayer and fasting.

On my drive in to D.C. yesterday morning I was thinking about what I should give up this year. Should I give up pasta again? Coffee (but allowing myself to drink tea because a few years ago when I gave up coffee + caffeine entirely I got horrible headaches from the withdrawal), going out to eat, shopping, Facebook…and then it dawned on me. Where is the one place I usually shop from or order online from at least once every 2 weeks, thus forking over portions of my paycheck every month? JCREW. Then I had it, I would give up shopping at Jcrew for Lent! (This includes Jcrew Factory as well if you are wondering).

Hopefully this decision would serve three purposes: learning and practicing the true meaning of sacrifice as my habits dictate I have no control over buying things from Jcrew (I do, but you know what I mean), perhaps saving me a little cash as I won’t be rushing to bank in on the 30% and 50% off or free shipping sales that happen all the time. And while counterproductive to the second point, maybe this will allow for some more diversity in my closest as a good chunk of clothes and shoes are from Jcrew.

Wish me luck! In full disclosure I ordered two articles of clothing from Jcrew on Sunday night that have yet to be shipped to me…but this doesn’t count because 1) I ordered these things when it didn’t even occur to me to give up Jcrew for Lent and 2) Lent starts TODAY people. 🙂

QUESTION:

If you are giving something up for Lent tell me, what did you decide on this year?

2 Comments

Filed under Life in Chesapeake Beach

2 responses to “Getting the “Crew” Out of My Life – for 40 days

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 73 | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: RIPS Country Inn | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

