Another Race!

I think I may have been hit with a renewed running bug…despite having just come off a race last Sunday, I am ready to sign up for another on April 13th – the George Washington Parkway Classic 10 Mile & 5k. Katie and I are planning on running the 10 miler. 

Needless to say there will be a lot of running in Katie and my future. She is currently training for the Philly half marathon on March 30th. And the week after the GW Parkway Classic I will start training for the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon in July. EEK.

I’m excited for this race though. It claims to be the most beautiful run in Virginia as the 10-miler begins at Mount Vernon and ends in Old Town Alexandria.

I consulted several running buddies on how to best train for a 10 mile race a month out since the decision to run the race happened earlier this week. I’m using my go-to Hal Higdon’s intermediate 10 mile/15k training plan as a base for my training.

WEEK MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT SUN
1 3 m run + strength 4 m run 4 x 800 5-K pace 2 m run + strength Rest 6 m run 60 min cross
2 3 m run + strength 5 m run 30 min tempo 3 m run + strength Rest 7 m run 60 min cross
3 3 m run + strength 6 m run 5 x 800 5-K pace 4 m run + strength Rest 8 m run 60 min cross
4 3 m run + strength 4 m run 35 min tempo 2 m run + strength Rest 4 m run 5-K Race
5 3 m run + strength 5 m run 6 x 800 5-K pace 3 m run + strength Rest 7 m run 60 min cross
6 3 m run + strength 6 m run 40 min tempo 4 m run + strength Rest 8 m run 60 min cross
7 3 m run + strength 4 m run 7 x 800 5-K pace 2 m run + strength Rest 4 m run 10-K Race
8 3 m run + strength 5 m run 45 min tempo 3 m run + strength Rest 9 m run 60 min cross
9 3 m run + strength 6 m run 8 x 800 5-K pace 4 m run + strength Rest 10 m run 60 min cross
10 3 m run + strength 4 m run 30 min tempo 4 m run 1-2 m run Rest 15-K Race

As you can see, his original training plan calls for 10 weeks of training so because of my time constraint I will just start my official training on Monday at week 7. Since I have been running regularly (3xs a week) averaging 3.5 miles and having just run an 8k I think I should be okay. I may have to adjust the last month of training a little to accommodate some travel, but everything should work out!

QUESTION:

Any races you have run lately or will be running?

2 Comments

Filed under Health & Fitness

2 responses to “Another Race!

  1. Pingback: Spring Has Sprung! | Bee in DC

  2. Pingback: Let it Go | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

