Hotlanta!

This past weekend mom, Tommy, Violet and I took a long weekend so we could road-trip to Atlanta to see my dad and brother.

We decided to leave D.C. around 10pm on Thursday so we could drive through the night and get to our house in Atlanta  around 9am or so.  While driving at night can be brutal (especially for the person(s) driving) I tend to prefer it – something about being in a car with people at night all cozy, chatting, listening to music, and snoozing off-and-on appeals to me. But then again, I am a huge fan of road-tripping in general. You also tend to miss out on a lot of traffic and it was nice to be able to arrive Friday morning, take a little catnap, and then have the entire day to visit and do things.

The drive down was pretty uneventful. Ms. V did pretty well in the car. She still panted a lot (she hates riding in the car). A lot of it is pit bulls are more prone to motion sickness, but we also wonder if car rides were a part of Violet’s not-so-cheery past. Tommy and I were prepared- we put on her trusty Thunder Shirt which she wore the entire way down and gave her a few sips of Benadryl that seemed to calm her down a little bit.

Once we arrived in Atlanta one thing we had to do before we pulled into our driveway at 8:30am on Friday was stop at Waffle House for breakfast! Especially because Tommy had never eaten there. One of the best decisions we made on the trip. 🙂

A little later on Saturday morning after Violet had gleefully run around our huge backyard and done her proper markings, Tommy and I took a little nap, and mom went about unpacking and tidying up our old house, we embarked on some errands downtown.

While mom took care of a few things, Tommy and I went in search of some much-needed coffee. I stopped a local on the street and she told us to go to the Dancing Goats Coffee Bar. It was great!

photo 1

It was really spacious and bright inside and had a huge coffee selection. If we lived here, Tommy and I both agreed we’d frequent this coffee bar a lot.

photo 2

Tommy ordered a large iced black coffee and I decided to try their iced skim chai. (Can you tell that we were in warmer weather than in D.C.?) The weather on Saturday was amazing – high 60s. Sunday was a little cooler, but definitely not as cold as it has been in the mid-Atlantic for FOREVER.

photo 3

While Tommy stay parked at the bar on his iPAD, I decided to wander over to a super cute boutique I had spotted on our walk over to Dancing Goats, Luci Belle – where I made an equally super cute, but functional purchase.

photo (1)

Soon after we went to visit my brother “at the office”. He works at Uncle Maddios Pizza Joint and had asked that we stop by for lunch on Friday. The food was good and atmosphere was casual and laid back, perfect. Marshall was able to schedule one of his breaks while we were there so we enjoyed catching up a little with him.

Mom and I decided to split a Greek salad and a veggie pizza while Tommy ordered everything off the menu – well maybe that’s taking it a little far, but he ordered at least four different things off the menu. He did admit his eyes were a tad bigger than his stomach.

photo (2)

photo 1 (1)

photo 3 (1)

After lunch we ran around town a bit more before heading back to the house to spend time with Violet outside before we went out to dinner with my dad. (He was at work all day Friday).

Dad treated us to one of Tommy’s (and my dad’s) favorite restaurants, Ted’s Montana Grill. It was a great night of delicious food, catching up, and a lot of laughs – and some wine and beer too. 🙂 After dinner, Marshall took Tommy, my mom, and me to his neighborhood bar hangout, Maggie’s for an hour or so before we were ready to call it a night. The drive had definitely taken its toll on us.

photo 1 (2)

Saturday was a great day, just spent doing normal things, but with the entire family for many portions of it. After mom and dad cooked us a delicious breakfast of cottage cheese pancakes and we had taken Violet on a long walk around the neighborhood, mom and I set out for a little shopping. She wanted to take me to some of her favorite antique stores and dad recommended looking at some new shops that had sprung up in downtown Tucker, a suburb of Atlanta. Mom and I rounded out our shopping excursion by getting pedicures before heading home.

Once we got home, we arrived to another delicious meal cooked by dad and Tommy. My dad’s special meat dish (I honestly can’t remember what it was, just that it was so yummy) and various roasted veggies Tommy had grilled. We dined al fresco sans Marshall before heading out to the movies. (Marshall was going to meet us there). We saw the Grand Budapest Hotel, which was quirky and fun – and confusing if you asked Tommy. Before we headed home dad suggested we get dessert somewhere so we found ourselves at Apres Diem, each eating a delectable slice of cake.

Tommy and I each ordered a slice of the peanut butter chocolate cake and a latte.

photo 2 (3)

Sunday morning came way too fast, most likely because mom and I had to wake up early to take Tommy to the airport. Unlike mom, Violet, and me he was heading back home so he didn’t have to miss another work day.

After we dropped Tommy off at the airport mom and I came back home. I was able to knock a lot of work things I had to do off my list, I got a 4 mile run in and ran a couple more errands before dinner time. Marshall and I even had time to squeeze in a coffee date with his girlfriend. 🙂 Very productive.

I was really looking forward to dinner, not only because mom and dad had whipped up another amazing meal that included some of my most favorite dishes, but because my good friend Marissa and one of her college friend’s, and a couple of longtime family friends were coming over for a dinner party!

Someone else had a pretty fab time too.

photo (3)

As is always the case, good things must come to an end and soon enough at 4am on Monday, mom, Violet and I were pulling out of our driveway ready to tackle the road back home.

What a great weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Hotlanta!

  1. Pingback: 31st Year | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

