Smokey Joe’s Cafe

I had a busy little Friday night after work!

I met my friend Arlene and some of her co-workers for happy hour at McCormick and Schmick’s near both of our offices. If you didn’t know, they do a very good happy hour. Arlene and I ordered a couple rounds of delicious Zinfandel and some apps (of course) that included fried calamari, french fries, and chicken sliders. Sooo healthy…

I had also been planning to attend a co-worker’s birthday happy hour at another bar, but timing and the rain (blah) immediately changed those plans.

After about an hour or so I hailed an Uber car (not a taxi, but a regular car. The driver just applied to be a driver through Uber) and made my way to Arena Stage along the SW Waterfront. I was meeting my mom – we were going to see Smokey Joe’s Cafe.

I didn’t know what to expect from  this show except I remember my mom saying it was a musical. Since I love musicals I was instantly in.

I really liked this play a lot. There was plenty of lively singing and dancing, and I recognized a lot of the songs the company performed. In fact once I heard the opening song I knew I was hooked. The song was “Neighborhood”. I will admit the reason why I knew the song was because it had been performed on the TV show, Ally McBeal many years ago. (Heart that show). I think Vonda Shephard has some competition on who can perform this song better. 😉

photo

 

Arena Stage’s website describes Smokey Joe’s Cafe as:

Let Broadway director Randy Johnson, (One Night with Janis Joplin), transport you to the golden age of Rock, Rhythm and Blues with the hits of Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame legends Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller. Featuring Tony winner Levi Kreis (Million Dollar Quartet), E. Faye Butler and Nova Y. PaytonSmokey Joe’s Café is packed with memorable tunes like “Hound Dog,” “Jailhouse Rock” and “Stand By Me”  It’s no wonder this electrifying show garnered seven Tony nominations and became the longest-running musical revue in Broadway history!

If you love musicals or just listening to a talented band and performers sing and dance this is definitely a show you should see!

1 Comment

Filed under Life in DC, Things to do in DC

One response to “Smokey Joe’s Cafe

  1. Pingback: Washington Pubbin’ It | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

