Korean Craving

Good evening folks! Excuse the late post – this day, actually entire week, has just gotten away from me.

A couple of weeks ago I started craving Korean food. Not exactly sure where this craving come about. I like Korean food, but I don’t believe I have ever craved it before. Well, I still had this hankering earlier this week so I decided to see if my mom felt like joining me for dinner tonight. We both have some upcoming travel so starting tomorrow we most likely won’t see each other for 2.5 weeks or so. This fact plus my need to have Korean food seemed as good as any excuse to go out to dinner.

We decided to go to Mandu on 5th and K Street NW. (There is another location in between Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan). It has been ages since I’ve been to Mandu. In the city it serves as my go-to Korean spot.

photo 1

We ordered enough for an army! I arrived a few minutes after mom and she had already ordered several things.

Bulgogi or marinated beef with veggies.

photo 4

An assortment of shrimp, veggie, and pork & beef dumplings.

photo 2

 

Bibim bap –rice bowl with assorted veggies, beef & sunny-side up egg. served with gochujang, a spicy chili and bean paste (not pictured, sadly).

Lettuce wraps, also not pictured.

I had already decided on my walk to Mandu (oh all right, this morning) that I was going to eat a seafood and scallion pancake (pa jeon) or two, so we also ordered that.

photo 3

Needless to say we ate well! And the good wife that I am, I brought Bulgogi and beef and pork dumplings home for Tommy to enjoy as well.

Thanks for a great dinner date mom! Safe travels. 🙂

QUESTION:

Any fans of Korean food out there? If so, what is your favorite dish?

 

3 Comments

Filed under Eating out in DC, Life in DC

3 responses to “Korean Craving

  1. Cat

    I love Korean cuisine too! My favorite is soft tofu stew. Once a while, I crave spicy Korean dishes, but it is so difficult to find authentic Korean restaurants here in Calgary. Now I just make Korean dishes at home so I can eat them at anytime!

Leave a Reply

