Tico

Good evening friends!

I just got “home” (I’m actually spending the night at my mom’s tonight because I am on a 6am train to NYC for work tomorrow) from our monthly “14th Street eating tour”.

This month we ate at Tico, which was another hit for Tammy, Miki and me.

photo 4 (1)

photo 3 (1)

Tico’s cuisine carries Spanish, Mexican, and Latin American influences. Michael Schlow is the Chef/Owner and currently resides in Boston (where the original Tico is). The restaurant’s design concept was executed by David Manfredi of Elkus-Manfredi Architects, who in my opinion, did a fabulous job. I especially liked how the windows opened up to the sidewalk allowing a mixture of warm air and ac-ed air to converge. The inside of the restaurant was very open, just one big room really, with a bar to the side.

Tico’s food is served tapas style so the three of us decided to order a bunch of different plates to share for more variety.

We began with the Crispy Manchego Cheese.

photo 1

Followed by the Chorizo Risotto.

photo 1 (1)

Followed by the Asparagus.

photo 3

Then the Tico’s Mac ‘N’ Cheese.

photo 4

And then the Crunchy Edamame Tacos.

photo 5

Since I am the only seafood lover of the group I had a serving of their Fried Oysters all to myself!

photo 2 (1)

Finally for dessert we shared the Goat’s Milk Cheesecake.

photo 2 (2)

My tapas standouts were the risotto, the asparagus, and the edamame tacos. Though everything we ordered was tasty. The service at Tico’s was also very attentive and helpful.

I would definitely come back here for any meal.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating out in DC

Leave a Reply

