Mama Comeau Visit

Happy first day of October! Can you believe it?

I spent Monday and Tuesday in New York City for a work event and now I’m back to work in my good ole D.C. office. 🙂

———–

This past weekend we had Tommy’s mom visit which was super fun. Even though it was a quick trip (she arrived around 9pm on Friday and left at 10am on Sunday) we still managed to do a lot – most of them new things which was great!

On Friday night I had dinner waiting for her, Tommy, and Violet when they arrived back from the airport. I made a Creamy Pesto Caprese Pasta Casserole (which I posted a picture of on Friday) and Kale salad. We took our time eating and catching up before we called it a night.

On Saturday we enjoyed a salmon quiche (which I also posted a picture of on Friday), grapes, and coffee for breakfast before heading out the door for a leisurely walk to and from the beach. It was such a beautiful morning. We saw many families already swimming and playing in the sand, as well as a couple of dogs enjoying ocean time.

Once we came back from the beach we showered and got ready to head all the way to Quantico – we were going to visit the Marine Corps Museum. (As you may know, Tommy served in the Marines several years ago so this was a special visit). One of Tommy’s former co-workers was going to meet us there. Since we ended up arriving a bit earlier than she did, we enjoyed some beverages and snacks at the Tun Tavern in the museum.

Upon entering the main exhibit we got a chance to sample what arriving at boot camp (basic training) felt like.

photo 1

All lined up and NOT smiling.

photo 2 (1)

Tommy showing us that his training has not been forgotten.

Tommy, Mama Comeau, and I tested out the shooting range.

Tommy, Mama Comeau, and I tested out the shooting range.

photo 3

All business!

photo 5

We wished we could have spent at least 2 more hours at the museum, but we had a dinner to get to!

We all really enjoyed the museum and Tommy and I have plans to go back since we didn’t get a chance to see all of the amazing exhibits. For more information on the museum go here.

Based off my friend Tammy’s recommendation, Tommy, Mama Comeau, and I were meeting my mom at Virtue Feed & Green in Old Town Alexandria for dinner right after our museum trip. It was sooo good!

We sat on their patio and enjoyed a delicious meal with great conversation and company.

For our appetizers we started with the nachos.

For our appetizers we started with the Blue Corn Nachos.

Followed by Braised Short Ribs Rostadas.

Followed by Braised Short Ribs Rostadas.

For my main course I got the Pan Seared Salmon with Risotto.

For my main course I got the Pan Seared Salmon with Risotto.

We had such a wonderful time hosting you Mama Comeau! Come back soon. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Health & Fitness, Life in Chesapeake Beach, Life in DC

One response to “Mama Comeau Visit

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tidbits – 112 | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

