Playing Catch-up: New York Wine and Food Festival

Last weekend Tommy and I had the opportunity to go to the New York Wine and Food Festival (NYWFF) in New York City. I was asked to volunteer at several events for work and Tommy decided to come along! (My organization was one of the two benefactors of the entire festival). I had never been to NYWFF so I was excited.

For those of you that don’t know,  the NYWFF is an annual multi-day culinary event extravaganza that helps lead the fight to end hunger. The festival is presented by Food & Wine and is the only festival in New York to bring together both legendary culinary icons from around the globe and America’s most beloved television chefs. This year’s festival was the sixth year the festival has been successfully put on and featured over 500 chefs and 100 events. For more information on NYWFF go here.

I figured the quickest way to recap this great weekend was through photos, of course!

On Friday night Tommy and I ate dinner at EAT near Hell’s Kitchen.

photo 1 (1)

Complimentary rice crackers while we waited.

photo 2 (2)

For our appetizer we ordered brie, figs, and jam with French Bread.

photo 3 (1)

I personally felt like I needed some greens in my life so I ordered their Mediterranean Salad. So good!

The food at EAT was good, but we had to wait forever for our food. Since it was a Friday night it was crowded, but not bustling so we weren’t quite sure what the hold up was.

On Saturday after a quick breakfast at Amy’s Bread with Tommy and one of my colleagues, Melanie, she and I headed over to our first NYWFF event venue while Tommy headed back to our hotel for some down time.

photo 4 (1)

Melanie and I at the Grand Tasting Event near Pier 84.

photo 5 (1)

Share Our Strength’s No Kid Hungry schoolhouse booth!

photo 1 (2)

No Kid Hungry swag.

At the last minute I was “reassigned” event duties and instead of working at the Grand Tasting event, I was quickly hustled up to a rooftop to help other colleagues at the Jets and Chefs event. If you are picturing Jets NFL players and cheerleaders, as well as chefs preparing various tailgating food and beverages for attendees you are spot on!

At both the Grand Tasting event and Jets and Chefs. and later Tacos and Tequila (my night event) my organization was asking event attendees to sign a petition.

photo 2 (3)

View from the roof!

photo 3 (2)

Another view.

photo 4 (2)

Another colleague of mine and me at Jets and Chefs.

Later that afternoon I took a quick cat nap back at the hotel before Tommy and I grabbed a quick bite for dinner before heading back to the same rooftop where Jets and Chefs was for my second event of the day, Tacos and Tequilas later that night.

For dinner we went to Eataly, a venue where you can not only buy meats, cheeses, pastas, desserts, and more but you can also eat in the food hall as there are several different restaurants to choose from (one for meats and cheeses,  pasta, seafood, more meat options, and vegetables specifically). We settled on the “vegetable” restaurant, Le Verdure, because it had the shortest wait time and we were on a time schedule.

photo 5 (2)

We split a brussels sprout, goat cheese, and pine nut salad.

photo 1 (3)

I ordered the Spinach, Beet and Ricotta Ravioli.

photo 2 (4)

While Tommy ordered the Fried Eggplant.

I liked Le Verdure a lot, but the next time I come back to Eataly I want to eat at the pasta restaurant, Le Cucine. While we waited for our table at Le Verdure, I bought a couple boxes of Italian specialty chocolate for my mom as a thank you for baby-sitting Violet over the weekend. I hope she likes them!

Soon enough, we were cabbing back to the piers for Tacos and Tequila which was being hosted by Chef Bobby Flay. If you are envisioning various tacos and tequila drinks being made for consumption, you are right! It was a beautiful night, albeit a little chilly!

photo 3 (3)

On Sunday morning Tommy and I grabbed a quick breakfast at a dinner before parting ways again. He was heading back to D.C., while I was on my way to Boston for another work event on Monday night.

We had a great time in NYC!

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Playing Catch-up: New York Wine and Food Festival

  1. Pingback: Tiffany’s Bridal Shower Weekend | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

