Delaware

On Sunday we continued my mom’s birthday celebration. A friend of hers from work, my mom, and I piled into a car and headed to Wilmington, Delaware for the day. We were heading to the Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library to visit the Costumes of Downton Abbey Exhibit and have Afternoon Tea!

photo 2 (1)Now even though I do not watch Downton Abbey – cue the gasps and surprise – I know, I am extremely late to this party – I really enjoyed the exhibit. I thought it was laid out incredibly well and I liked how each costume featured dialogue from the particular conversation where a character was wearing the said costume. There were also a lot of TVs throughout the exhibit showcasing important scenes relating to the exhibit.

photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 1 (1) photo 2 (2) photo 3 (1)

The exhibit may have convinced me once and for all that I need to start watching this show. Perhaps during my maternity leave?!

Not only was the exhibit a highlight, the grounds of Winterthur were absolutely stunning and vast. Visitors could hike along many trails, sit on various benches, or lay a blanket pretty much anywhere to picnic or sun themselves (in the warmer weather months!) Before we toured the exhibit, the three of us took a 10 minute-long tram ride along the main route of the museums gardens. Our tour guide pointed out Henry Francis du Pont’s house, (Winterthur was his childhood home), as well as various trees and shrubs that I can only imagine are absolutely stunning in the spring.

After we were done touring the exhibit, we walked around the old reflecting pool and surrounding garden and perused the Campbell Collection of Soup Tureens exhibit.

photo 4 (4) photo 5 (2)

And then finally it was time for tea and nibbles!

photo

I do love a good Afternoon Tea!

It was a great day, albeit a little chilly. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

