Date Night – Daikaya and Trans – Siberian Orchestra

And…you thought I had forgotten my “date night” posts! To be fair to Tommy we’ve probably had several impromptu date nights since our last OFFICIAL date night in August at Chefs Behind Bars, but we started the official date night train again last night. šŸ™‚

This month’s date night was a joint venture. The idea was inspired by me, but Tommy did pay for dinner, lol.

If you have been reading this blog for a little bit you probably know that we are obsessed with Daikaya – a ramen shop in Gallery Place/Chinatown. For folks that don’t live in “DC proper” anymore we go here pretty often. Well, last night was no exception.

Tommy picked me up from work and we drove to Gallery Place/Chinatown, parked, and wandered into Daikaya praying we wouldn’t have a wait before we were slurping on ramen noodles. Luckily we didn’t – we were seated right away at the bar. Score!

IMG_0216

We both ordered our usuals. Tommy: the Mugi-Miso Ramen with extra noodles and pork and me: the Shoyu Ramen with extra noodles and hard boiled eggs. Hey – gotta get my protein!

My delicious dinner.

My delicious dinner.

We also ordered a plate of dumplings which I didn’t snap a photo of.

After dinner we had some time to kill so we wandered around Urban Outfitters and City Sports before stumbling upon the Gallery Place Christmas Market! I had totally forgotten this occurs at this time of year.

This market kind of reminded Tommy and me of the Christmas markets in Prague.

This market kind of reminded Tommy and me of the Christmas markets in Prague.

Pretty soon it was showtime. Showtime for what you may ask? We had tickets to see the Trans- Siberian Orchestra (TSO) perform at the Verizon Center!

I have recently really gotten in to TSO but I know my dad used to play Christmas CDs of theirs throughout my childhood which I always enjoyed. My all-time favorite song of theirs is Carol of the Bells.

Their concert was….interesting. I will put it this way: I definitely plan on buying some of their Christmas music in the future but I’m not sure I need to see them perform live again. This particular show was kind of strange. I assumed the entire show would be Christmas and holiday themed based on the time of year they were choosing to perform. The first part was to a point with a storyteller narrating a story (which I, for some reason, couldn’t follow) accompanied by Christmasy songs and arrangements. The second part was more like a rock concert with laser lights, fireworks, and a lot of rock ‘n’ roll sounding songs. The show just didn’t jive for me. I did like that they saved Carol of the Bells for their last song of the night.

I will say two other factors also dampened my experience a little. 1) I couldn’t get comfortable in my seat. I was just too squashed. And 2) most of the people sitting around us were incredibly rude. When they weren’t loudly talking during the show they were perusing FB on their phones or repeatedly getting up from their seats –and thus making everyone else get up from our seats to let them go by.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved having this date night with Tommy and it was a great night out – I had just envisioned the show a lot differently than what happened.

Oh well, at least now we know!

QUESTION:

Have you ever heard of TSO? What do you think of their music?

1 Comment

Filed under Date Night, Eating out in DC, Life in DC, Things to do in DC

One response to “Date Night – Daikaya and Trans – Siberian Orchestra

  1. Pingback: Busy Weekend | Bee in DC

Leave a Reply

